The Initiation of the Little Guat

13 Jul

I didn’t get there last time and believe me, it wasn’t because I didn’t try. We were making all kinds of traffic infractions, but I just didn’t make it. The process happened so fast so I missed the window of opportunity.

Even though people tell you, you forget the pain, they lie. Because you recognize it when it hits your abdomen. Then comes your back. Your aching back. It’s so excruciating that profanity constantly fills the room. You try not to, but it just comes out. Even in a Catholic Hospital.

Granted everyone’s experience is quite different, but everyone feels pain, even a little. If they say they don’t, that’s probably because the drugs are working.

These pains caused me such agony that I was calling on all Gods and Powers that be to make sure I had made it in time — made it to the window of opportunity. The Epidural Opportunity.

Now I’m not a wuss, and my pain threshold is pretty high, but there was no need to test my limits. Really there wasn’t. I had gone through that entire process before and let’s just say that I’m not a fan pain. Just because I can take it, doesn’t mean I should do it again.

And yes … yes this time, the window of opportunity was still there.

But all that pain, agony, swearing, and needles shoved into my veins brought me the joys of motherhood once again. A year ago today my daughter was born, and we celebrated her initiation into The Guat Family with a little cake, a little bouncer, and a few games. Her big party, along with my son’s is on Sunday, but the memory was created today.

Trying to play some games

One year of limited sleep.

One year of 2 a.m. feedings.

One year of 6 a.m. wake up calls.

One year of washing 20 Doctor Brown baby bottle parts a day.

One year of dirty Huggies diapers.

One year of random screaming.

One year of purchasing multiple pacifiers.

One year of people trying to give me pink things even though they know I hate pink.

One year of baby-proofing stuff that is never really baby proof.

One year of vaccinations and the crying that goes with it.

One year of crying because she’s sleepy.

One year of crying because she’s hungry.

One year of crying because she’s teething.

One year of crying for no reason.

One year of losing my mind.

One year of giggles.

One year of enthusiastic screaming when I enter the room.

One year of baby dancing when she hears music.

One year of watching a brother love his sister.

One year of smiles.

One year of puppy-dog eyes.

One year of ten tiny toes and ten tiny fingers.

One year of another little Guat hanging around.

One year today.

6 Responses to “The Initiation of the Little Guat”

  1. adinparadise July 14, 2012 at 1:54 AM #

    Happy birthday to your little daughter, TG. I love the way you lump all the negatives in with the positives. They’re so worth it, aren’t they? 😉

    • The Guat July 16, 2012 at 2:16 PM #

      Yeah she gives me all kinds of gray hairs, but they’re worth it.

  2. Cayman Thorn July 14, 2012 at 9:12 AM #

    Awwww, Happy Birthday to LIttle Guat. And as far as that epidural, I’m with ya. My ex had wanted to go without one, and then thought better of it, both times. I cannot imagine how you women do it. I wanted an epidural and alls I was doing was fielding all her curse words and serving up ice.

    • The Guat July 16, 2012 at 2:18 PM #

      I can’t imagine how I did it either. Yeah I’m all about epidural. The first time was really difficult, because I missed my chance, there was no choice involved. I made sure I made it on time the second time around.

  3. lameadventures July 14, 2012 at 1:46 PM #

    Great post and happy birthday to the Little Guat. Deciding to go with the epidural the second time around reminds me of when I saw Lily Tomlin perform a giving birth skit on stage. In the middle of her agonized screams she turned to the audience and said, “What a time to be off drugs.”

    • The Guat July 16, 2012 at 2:20 PM #

      That line was great! Lily Tomlin rocks. I really needed a laugh both you and Cayman Thorn came through…thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

