Happiness Project Update 6: Get a Grip! You’re Not Single Anymore, It Takes 90 Minutes.

11 Jul

While still working on the aiming-high-career-path section of my happiness project, I realized that even though I continued having periods in my life that truly sucked, I’ve learned that I can have moments of peace during the chaos and this brings me momentary happiness.

I reached the Phil Jackson kind of Zen. But it’s not like I’m in an 80s movie and I’m living the happily-ever-after-roll-the-credits moment.  But I’m momentarily happy and that’s important when you’re taking it day by day.

Image via Happiness-Project.com

So when applying this day-by-day philosophy to my writing career, I took a good piece of advice from Rubin’s book and her section on career.

Work Smart. It’s not mind-blowing, I know. More like fortune cookie mentality, but sometimes fortune cookies are awesome.

Carving out time to be productive. This proved to be difficult when I, mother of two always working a double-parenting shift, barely had time to take a shower. But it was just difficult, not impossible.

Rubin mentions that as I writer, it was hard for her to set aside a good chunk of time, four hours, to write and this made her feel frustrated and inefficient.

Holy Crap! Me too.

I thought finally someone who gets that I need a couple of hours to get going and then begin my storytelling process. But then Rubin went on to explain that sometimes in that four-hour block, distractions appear and she doesn’t really use the four hours.

I’m guilty of that. I don’t know how many times I’ve decided to clean up, wash dishes, and put away toys during my writing time. I mean aside from the fact that I’m a little Howard Hughes, and I need a clutter-free environment to work, sometimes I go beyond that scope.

I decide to rearrange the clothes, which are not even in the same room. I decide that my car needs to be washed, or the toilet needs to be scrubbed. All great chores, but not really within my work space.

Procrastination is a writer’s Kryptonite. I’ve often been exposed to it. Sometimes too much when watching USA Network, FX or AMC.

So during this analysis of time and trying to be more productive, Rubin revealed her secrets. She did better when she had less time — like when you’re on deadline. You feel a rush. You feel the pressure, but you still have a surge of creativity, because you know your time is limited.

But let’s not get crazy, it’s not like you’re feeling the pressure of a college final either. It’s 90 minutes in your home — probably in your Costco sweats making a dent in your couch, with sandwich in hand. The only pressure you have is you — you and your crazy writer mentality.

These 90 minute intervals were the plan. At first I might have thought that wasn’t enough time, but once again if you know your time is limited, you’re going to use every second.

Then I thought about it in sports terms and it made sense. I mean if you’re trying to lose weight, be a better tennis player, swimmer, or triathlete and you workout 90 minutes every day or even every other day, you’d probably be on the cover of Shape Magazine with no airbrushing needed and winning all kinds of trophies in every division.

So as hectic as this ride is, I realized it was chaotic because my expectations still hadn’t been adjusted. I was living in my single-chick mentality. When I was single, not married, no kids those four-hour blocks came in abundance. Now that I’m living the adult life, I can’t find four-consecutive hours by myself on a weekly basis to save my life. So I decided that my four-hour expectation needed to be dumped. I thought I would try Rubin’s 90-minute interval strategy and see how it would work out in The Guat World — the you’re not single anymore world so stop thinking you have all this time.

I don’t know if that will make me crazier or happier, but it will sure make things different.

Stay tuned, we’ll see what happens.

 

15 Responses to “Happiness Project Update 6: Get a Grip! You’re Not Single Anymore, It Takes 90 Minutes.”

  1. adinparadise July 12, 2012 at 1:09 AM #

    Good luck with this, TG. 😉

  2. The Blissful Adventurer July 12, 2012 at 8:59 AM #

    I expect a full report and cover photo from SHAPE 🙂

    • The Guat July 12, 2012 at 9:57 AM #

      HA! You crack me up. I’m on it! Hitting my first 90-minute interval today 🙂

      • The Blissful Adventurer July 12, 2012 at 10:46 AM #

        that is big. If I did 90 minutes about 60 of them would be in the ambulance 🙂

  3. 8teen39 July 12, 2012 at 2:31 PM #

    I feel for you. But your problem is not peculiar to only female writers. I work all day and mine is not a household where I am greeted at the door by my wife with a martini for me who then goes into the kitchen to finish preparing dinner. We cook together. And even though we have no tv, there is always talking or something else with which to procrastinate. Good luck!

    • The Guat July 13, 2012 at 12:59 AM #

      Thanks for the luck. I’m glad procrastination is universal 🙂

  4. Cayman Thorn July 12, 2012 at 5:38 PM #

    I’m a Pat Riley fan, but I dig the Jax Zen thing you’re plying. I get it. As far as fortune cookies go, they’re horoscopes after a kick ass meal, so what’s NOT to love? And I have a little Howard Hughes in me as well. Umm, yeah . . . that doesn’t sound right.
    I’m staying tuned, Guat.

    • The Guat July 13, 2012 at 12:57 AM #

      Well in truth I disliked Jackson when he was in Chicago. I am a HUGE Pat Riley fan. LOVE him, probably one of the reasons I like The Heat. Slick Pat he took L.A. to the promise land. 🙂 Glad we share common ground 🙂

      • Cayman Thorn July 14, 2012 at 9:16 AM #

        Wow, we really are on the same page there. I really disliked Jax when he was in Chitown. He had Jordan and Riley STILL almost beat him a couple times. I loved Riley from Showtime to NY to Miami, the last two stops weren’t my teams but Riles was always my guy.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happiness Project Update 7: Enjoying The Now, Enjoying The Later Much Better, and Ripley « The Wish Factor - July 21, 2012

    […] Happiness Project Update 6: Get a Grip! You’re Not Single Anymore, It Takes 90 Minutes. (thewishfactor.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Happiness Project Update 8: I Accept That This is Not an 80s Movie « The Wish Factor - August 5, 2012

    […] Happiness Project Update 6: Get a Grip! You’re Not Single Anymore, It Takes 90 Minutes. (thewishfactor.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Happiness Project Update 9: Parenthood … Awful, Awful, Awful, Terrific! « The Wish Factor - August 12, 2012

    […] Happiness Project Update 6: Get a Grip! You’re Not Single Anymore, It Takes 90 Minutes. (thewishfactor.wordpress.com) […]

  4. Happiness Project Update 10: Parenthood … Where Everyone Has a Meltdown « The Wish Factor - August 19, 2012

    […] Happiness Project Update 6: Get a Grip! You’re Not Single Anymore, It Takes 90 Minutes. (thewishfactor.wordpress.com) […]

  5. My Happiness Project Update 12: Finding Gratefulness in Ordinary Days … And Not the Artificial Kind. « The Wish Factor - September 6, 2012

    […] Happiness Project Update 6: Get a Grip! You’re Not Single Anymore, It Takes 90 Minutes. (thewishfactor.wordpress.com) […]

  6. Happiness Project Final Update: I’ve Learned to Embrace the George Costanza Phase of My Life | The Wish Factor - July 12, 2013

    […] Happiness Project Update 6: Get a Grip! You’re Not Single Anymore, It Takes 90 Minutes. […]

Leave a Reply

