Weekly Photo Challenge: Movement

10 Jul

Movement

 

Six words create movement.

I stand at the back of the line wishing for it.

One step at a time … movement.

I stand there waiting, looking at the chocolate cakes, guava filled pastries, and fruit tarts wishing for people to hurry up.

New York cheesecake, Oreo cheesecake, mango cheesecake, white chocolate raspberry cheesecake. But I still don’t hear the words. Those six words.

I can see the glass. It’s crystal clear. No streaks. It reveals the Pina Colada Mousse, Triple Chocolate Mousse, Mango Mousse, and Cappuccino Mousse. My mouth is watering, my stomach is growling, and my eyes are getting bigger. Movement! C’mon! Movement!

I’m barred. I have to follow the social norm. Waiting. Waiting. The lady in front of me smacks her gum as she talks on her cell phone. She smells like she needs a shower. These pastries deserve fresh-smelling people. She doesn’t deserve to be in front of me. I can’t just jump over the poles or black belts holding me back. I’d become a victim of a crazy mob.

I wait.

I get lost in the tasty sweets and forget about the smelly woman. My feet move and I’m not even aware. And then … I smile because I hear it. I hear it!

I can help the next person …

Movement.

 

2 Responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Movement”

  1. adinparadise July 11, 2012 at 5:43 AM #

    Hope it was worth the wait. 😉

  2. Cayman Thorn July 12, 2012 at 5:40 PM #

    You had me at mango cheesecake.

Leave a Reply

