Awkward moments

7 Jul

It wasn’t really awkward for me, but I guess she felt bad.

When you hang with a crowd, it’s logical to grow apart as everyone does their family thing. But you still get together and invite each other for birthdays and other special occasions.

I have a friend that sort of drifted off the planet and just recently began calling me again, wanting to reconnect. Her schedule has been pretty hectic so apparently she thought it would be a good idea for both of us to carpool to a baby shower that they were having for a mutual friend of ours.

She sent me this long text message that took about three screens. She mentioned how it would be nice to hang out again and catch up with our lives. She said she was looking forward to it and was hoping that I’d agree to share the ride.

I didn’t know how to tell her. So I just spit it out. Well I text it out.

“I don’t think I’m going to make it. I didn’t get invited. If they sent the invite via email, it might be in my junk mail, but I doubt it. If it was sent regular USPS I didn’t get one. So I’m thinking I’m not gonna make it. But I hope you have fun.”

Crickets.

No text message back.

Then about half an hour later…

“O.K. Got it.”

That was it. Nothing else. No phone call. No I’ll call you later. Just O.K. Got it.

I guess she felt bad. Well, maybe not bad. More like awkward. But I didn’t. I don’t always have to get invited to things and my feelings aren’t hurt if I’m not. Some people just don’t feel that we’re close enough and that’s O.K. It happens. No worries.

And although my friend might have felt awkward for a little bit, I hope that I put her at ease. I guess things like that would have mattered back in high school. But I’m 36 now. The big three-six and things like this don’t bother me. They’re kind of funny.

 

One Response to “Awkward moments”

  1. Krystal Rose July 10, 2012 at 6:28 PM #

    Good for you! I probably would have been shattered by that once upon a time too, but as I approach 29, I just don’t care anymore. Like me, don’t like me, friend me, or don’t. I have who I need and want in my life and it’s great! 😀 Although, I can still get a little unhinged at times. lol I’m only human!

Leave a Reply

