Losing and Cleaning Up

9 Jun

L.A. Kings vs. New Jersey Devils Championship Hockey Game

 
The mark of great sportsmen is not how good they are at their best, but how good they are at their worst — Martina Navratilova.

 

I must be a terrible sportsmen because I hate it when my team loses.

It burns me out.

There’s no more popcorn eating. No more dipping your nachos in cheese. No more woo-hooing. No more pumping your fist in the air. No more high-fiving. No more clapping. No more drinking. There’s just no more.

There’s just disappointment … disappointment and a mess of dishes to clean up, nacho cheese on the counter, and too many jalapenos.

If my team had won today, they would have been a Stanley Cup celebration and cleaning up would not be a problem. The kitchen could have been drowning in nacho cheese and it wouldn’t have mattered. But losing tends to put things in perspective. So the dishes sucked.

But my team has got two more opportunities to win the big trophy, however I’m hoping that they’ll just need one to close out the series. Otherwise it will just be more disappointment and nacho cheese clean up.

7 Responses to “Losing and Cleaning Up”

  1. island traveler June 10, 2012 at 4:59 AM #

    I know what you mean. When we are into our team and passionate about what they do, we do get affected when they loose. I felt bad last night when Pacquiao lost over Bradley. the score said he won but the judges acted like drunk fools with their verdict. Good think the twitter messages made me laugh. Great post!

    • The Guat June 10, 2012 at 10:07 PM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuude. I heard about that fight. I didn’t see it, but as I understand Pacquiao was robbed. I feel you on that one 🙂

  2. Cayman Thorn June 10, 2012 at 5:41 PM #

    Neither of these teams gets ruffled easily. So the Devils getting back to a Game 6 isn’t much of a surprise. Just as a Kings close out victory wouldn’t surprise me much either. I can’t believe the first time the Kings were in the finals, Barry Melrose was coaching them up. Well, I’ll be wishing you luck. Who would’ve imagined the Staples Center might be hosting a title celebration and the Lakers wouldn’t be in the conversation?

    • The Guat June 10, 2012 at 10:11 PM #

      True that. True that. Lakers long gone, but Kings are standing strong. I’m truly hoping they will play much better on Monday so that I could bust out the Framboise and the woo-hoos.

  3. The Hook June 11, 2012 at 3:34 PM #

    Yeah, losing sucks…
    But your post rocked!

  4. Cayman Thorn June 13, 2012 at 4:11 PM #

    Congratulations on your Kings raising the Cup after forty five years. It’s pretty exciting to see an LA team win . . . in HOCKEY. Good stuff.

    • The Guat June 13, 2012 at 10:17 PM #

      WOO-HOO! I was gushing … still in celebration mode. I was ecstatic! And it only took 45 years … wow. That’s how we do it 🙂

Leave a Reply

