Susan Sarandon and Johnny Carson to the Rescue

6 Jun

“It’s easy to be heavy, but hard to be light.”

For some reason I came across that quote twice this week. It’s stalking me, like a crazy boyfriend from a Law and Order episode.

The thing is I can’t even remember where I saw it, but it came out of no where, probably from my calendar or a book. Either way it had me thinking of who would say something like this, probably the same person that says “everything happens for a reason”. 

The thing is when people are ready to jump off a cliff or go out on a bender they don’t want to hear stuff like this. They want to hear that life does suck and everybody at one time or another is looking at an empty bottle of their preferred alcoholic beverage of choice.  When they finally recover from this bad-day hangover … that’s when you bust out your helpful quotes.

The other day my friend was complaining about her current life: her marriage being in a tough spot, her work not exactly going the way she wanted and her teenage kids acting … well like teenagers. Incidentally, it did suck at the time. But instead of giving her the “it’s-easy-to-be-heavy” speech and why don’t you pretend to be happy load of crap, I talked to her for a little bit and then tried to make her laugh. After our talk, I looked into my television and movie vault quotes, which often help me get a laugh now and then when life is giving me road blocks.

I didn’t know what to tell her about marriage to make her hopeful and feel better about her situation. So I did my best to listen. After our heartfelt talk I sent her an email in hopes of brightening her day. These were the quotes I passed along …

“If variety is the spice of life, marriage is the big can of Spam,” Johnny Carson.

Some people like Spam. It’s sold in over 40 countries. It’s been around since 1937. For some people Spam rocks.
 
“We’re not in the middle of nowhere, but we can see it from here.” Susan Sarandon.
 
Even if we had a road map, compass, and the best GPS Navigation system for life, some people, including myself would still get lost … but humor would still be my co-pilot. I’ll lend it to you so you can get through this.
 
She sent me a thank you email the next day.
 
Sometimes, humor helps you bounce back. If it fails, go to Plan B: Chocolate. A lot of chocolate.
8 Responses to “Susan Sarandon and Johnny Carson to the Rescue”

  1. 1pointperspective June 7, 2012 at 4:07 AM #

    I don’t know who said it, but my all time favorite is “If your only tool is a hammer, every problem is a nail” I find myself saying it for totally appropriate reasons at least once every week.

    • The Guat June 10, 2012 at 10:00 PM #

      That’s a good one, too. I haven’t heard yet. I’m gonna have to tax that from you. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  2. TBM June 7, 2012 at 5:35 AM #

    I like your advice. I’m not one who loves to hear, “Chin up” when I’m having a crap day. I might make adjustments to your plan though. Chocolate and humor at once.

    • The Guat June 10, 2012 at 10:01 PM #

      Yeah. Perhaps the chocolate needs to come first. 🙂

  3. Cayman Thorn June 7, 2012 at 8:22 PM #

    An emergency kit should always contain chocolate. As for Spam, I don’t really like the stuff but I must admit that I have a can in my pantry. And if the end of the world happens, I’m sure it will morph into my comfort food. I love the quotes, btw.
    You were right on with that email to your friend. Humor is a tonic.

    • The Guat June 10, 2012 at 10:03 PM #

      Most definitely. Spam lasts forever…like fruit cake I guess. But I’m not much of Spam lover myself, I just like Johnny Carson 🙂

  4. lameadventures June 10, 2012 at 7:50 AM #

    I’m not nor have I ever been married, but I have been and am in a relationship (Lame Adventures-style). I love the Carson quote! Thanks for sharing it. I miss that guy. He married, divorced and paid supertankers of alimony to two or three women named Joan or Joanne. Perfect for a legendary comedian.

    • The Guat June 10, 2012 at 10:05 PM #

      If he had more advise on marriage I’d definitely take it … seems like he’s got the practice, plus the humor to go with it 🙂 Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

