What Happened to My Phone Call? Stupid Facebook.

27 May

I remember how the phone used to ring and I would answer it. We’d engage in conversation and laughter. I’d learn little idiosyncracies and they would learn mine.

We’d hang out. In person.

I thought I was special, someone deserved of a phone call, a personal visit, a sit-down lunch in a booth with placemats and a wine list, where conversation commenced and personal information was shared. But now … I’ve become one of the masses. One of the hundred-plus under the “Friends” category.

Image representing Facebook as depicted in Cru...

Image via CrunchBase

It hit me. I was no longer special. I’d been dumped and Facebook was the reason.

I have to admit it was a good idea to begin with … reconnecting with old friends and childhood acquaintances. People could post pictures of their kids without being the annoying intrusive parent who constantly pops out photos of their kids at the office when people don’t even ask them. Everyone posted what they were doing, when they were doing it, and what they liked. They had their own paparazzi, however this media outlet publicized the positives — accomplishments.

But then slowly I began to see important notices — milestones — on the website. Stuff like buying houses, new jobs, baptisms, births, and engagements.

Now that was all fine and good for old friends or acquaintances, people with no regular telephone frequency. Even for friends in another state. But what about close friends?

I realized … I guess I wasn’t that close. What up? What happened to my phone call? Stupid Facebook.

Just the other day I realized that someone I had known for over ten years bought their first house.  I found out at the same time as 122 other people. I thought, no wonder I hadn’t heard from them. I would call and leave messages. But no response. And then there it was posted on Mark Zuckerberg‘s invention.

“We just moved into our new home!” Pictures included.

There were no more conversations. No more idiosyncracies. No more placemats. I got notified just like everyone else.

I understand moving is crazy. It’s a hassle. It’s a bitch. I’ve done it four times in eight years. I know it’s overwhelming. But I call. I let my close friends know, then I send out an email letting the rest of my world in on it.

But technology has allowed people to reach the masses. Let everyone in on their business. It allows you to share your joys, your triumphs, your memorable moments as fast as they happen.

But with all this sharing and the new technology that allows you to do it, even from your cell phone, I’ve lost many good friends. I’ve gone from a good friend to friend No.54.  I’ve become one of the masses. Stupid Facebook.

7 Responses to “What Happened to My Phone Call? Stupid Facebook.”

  1. Currie Rose May 28, 2012 at 8:59 AM #

    I can so relate to this. I broke up with facebook several months ago…. part of the reason was in favor of more authentic connection. Anyway, I left and haven’t looked back since. I think it may have been one of the best choices I’ve ever made.

    Thanks for this post, I really appreciate it.

    Have a happy day!
    Currie

    • The Guat May 29, 2012 at 11:52 PM #

      Thanks! I was hoping somebody out there could relate and it wasn’t just me hanging out there by myself. 🙂

  2. craftcrazygran May 28, 2012 at 12:34 PM #

    Hear! Hear! Old friends, my matron of honour, hubby’s best man, became grandparents for the 2nd time. We found out via fb. We didn’t even know their daughter was expecting. It hurt

  3. eof737 May 29, 2012 at 5:43 AM #

    Yeah, I know the feeling… happens in blogland too. 😉

  4. thoughtsofthewanderingkind May 29, 2012 at 8:54 PM #

    Couldn’t have said it better myself!

  5. ioanna aggelidaki June 6, 2012 at 10:02 PM #

    No need to worry about your phone calls no more, now facebook practicly lives in you phone too…. I opened my wordrobe today, 6 o clock in the morning, looking for something to wear and it poped out! I almost had a heart attack… Facebook needs a slap in the face, it’s everywhere, it lives among us!
    P.S. Loved your post! 🙂

    • The Guat June 6, 2012 at 10:39 PM #

      I don’t have a fancy phone. Just a regular old school one. No apps. 🙂 But yes Facebook does need a quick back slap 🙂

Leave a Reply

