My Three-Year Old’s Definition of Respect and Golf School

3 May

You’re talking and you wonder do they get it? They hear me, but are they listening? That happens often in my family.

But then I think about my son and smile. Sometimes he gets it, he hears me and listens …

My son continues his preschool sabbatical and is currently enjoying the teachings of Coach Jeff at golf school. Last week’s word of the day was sportsmanship. He seemed to learn that one quickly as he gave Coach Jeff a high-five and said: “Good game, Coach Jeff.”

This week’s word of the day was respect. He got the ten minute speech at the beginning of class. Coach Jeff  defined the word and explained that you should treat others as you would like to be treated.

Then my son whispers to me: “Mom, what’s treated?”

“It’s your behavior with other people. How you act. Your attitude. Remember good attitude. Good behavior to other people and people will have good behavior to you. Be nice to other people and they will be nice to you. Listen to other people and they will listen to you. Good attitude to Coach Jeff and your teammates, and they will show you good attitude.”

“Oh. Yes. Good attitude. Good behavior. Listen. I treat people, and they will treat me. I behave good, they behave good to me too. Respect.”

“Yes. Always show respect.” 

He smiled and we were off to the driving range. Each kid went to their stall and began swinging away.  They were reminded how to properly hold the club and how to follow through on their swing. My son improved his grip  … well at least for a second, and then he went back to a hockey-style swing, and then back to his golf grip again. It’s a learning process and he enjoys class. He’s smacking them pretty good and I was pretty proud of him.

Then after he finished half the bucket of balls he took a quick two-minute-Goldfish-crackers-and-Gatorade break. As he stood there checking out his classmates swing away. He noticed a couple of boys weren’t really into the driving range thing. They are off jumping like frogs, checking out the grass, or rolling around in their stalls. 

Then one of the kids who was hanging out in the grassy knoll, pretending he was a butterfly picked up a ball and threw it at one of the kids attempting to put Coach Jeff’s teachings in effect. Poor Jay. He had the right grip and the right posture, just as he turned his little three-year old body to begin his swing, in came a flying golf ball and hit him on the cheek.

Coach Jeff was on the other side helping out other kids so he didn’t witness the incident. But butterfly boy’s dad was there, and so was Jay’s.  The dad’s had a little pow-wow about the incident and Jay sat out a little bit until the pain subsided.

“That was not nice, mom. He did not treat Jay. That was not respect. I think he will be in timeout.”

I don’t have to wonder whether my son”gets it”. He hears me and listens. Perhaps when he’s in middle school I’ll begin to worry, but for now he continues to learn lessons.

5 Responses to “My Three-Year Old’s Definition of Respect and Golf School”

  1. Misaal Shah May 4, 2012 at 4:20 AM #

    Hey there, nice post.

    He might not always listen to you as he grows up, but I think i’ll always respect you.

    Your post brought back memories of my parents taking me for cricket practice as a kid.

    • The Guat May 5, 2012 at 12:04 AM #

      I’m hoping for both, but I’ll take respect 🙂

      • Misaal Shah May 5, 2012 at 12:49 AM #

        Just read what I wrote,
        I mean’t he’ll always respect you. Which you obviously knew.

  2. Island Traveler February 25, 2013 at 4:06 AM #

    You are blessed to have a son that listens and truly cares about others. At a young age, he already has the maturity of a first grader. My son was a typical toddler and It was a challenging phase but everyday we remind him that he should always respect others and do what’s right. So far, we are on the right tract. Thank heavens!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Lesson Was on Me This Time « The Wish Factor - June 8, 2012

    […] My Three-Year Old’s Definition of Respect and Golf School (thewishfactor.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

