When Makeup is Not Enough: Worn-Out Cover Girls

3 Mar

This weekend we attended another kid’s party and as I scanned the room I couldn’t help but notice something odd about all the parents. The dads looked like they just had facials at Burke Williams Spa, while the moms and the guy with the newborn looked like they were aged CoverGirls … weary and tore up.

All the moms had that same look, including myself. It’s not like we weren’t having fun at this rice crispies treat extravaganza. We were and we were styling in our best Old Navy apparel, but we looked weathered. It was all in the eyes. Now don’t get me wrong dads, I’m sure there are some good non-sleeping dads too, so don’t send me hate mail.  But at this fiesta the count was low. One to be exact. I didn’t get it. What was going on?

And then the answer hit me as someone asked me how I was doing. My response of course was … tired. This baby keeps me up at night, getting four of hours sleep, and that’s just not enough for me. I got things to do. Got to write, got to train for my race, got to have fun with my son … got things to do.

Their response was … you just have to give in. Moms, without nannies, turn crazy because they’re trying to fight the system. Just accept it, you no longer got six hours of sleep, you’ll get four until they move out of the house. Your problem is you want too much.

I’m sorry, what?

You want too much. Just accept it, don’t fight it. You’ll be better off.

And there it was … I had high expectations. Apparently that was my problem.

But no, aside from laughing at this comment, this was not the problem. Multi-tasking. That was the problem. Moms are the multi-tasking gurus. You’re shaving your legs, waxing your lips, and brushing your teeth all while you have a batch of Nestle Toll House in the oven. 

Dude. Not cool, man.

Do you think your other half would be doing that … no. They wouldn’t shave, they’d suck on a tick-tack, and buy ten packs of Famous Amos at the Chevron Gas Station. No multi-tasking and plenty of time to watch the Golf Channel.

I know moms have to get stuff done, otherwise it never gets done, and I know that hygiene is a must. But you know what, sometimes that laundry needs to stay in the dryer, while you watch the USA Network. Need to enjoy the show. Need to enjoy your rocky road. Need to indulge in the moment.  

I came across a quote the other day, one I had highlighted in a book, which resurfaced in my day-to-day calendar.

“Being in the present moment — if you can learn to do that — begins to change your whole life.”

I’m not saying I’m going to block everything out and live in ruins. You do have to multi-task, you do, but sometimes you need a break and enjoy the moment … “be in the present”. Otherwise you’ll keep looking like all the moms at this party. Worn-out CoverGirls. You know, chicks that can’t even cover up “the tired” with makeup … There’s just not enough Covergirl cosmetics to help … not even mineral makeup.

But I won’t give up. I can never want too much of anything, especially sleep.

 

3 Responses to “When Makeup is Not Enough: Worn-Out Cover Girls”

  1. adinparadise March 4, 2012 at 5:14 AM #

    Sleep is definitely the best beauty treatment ever invented. If I don’t get a good night’s rest, I wonder who that is in the mirror the next morning. 😉

  2. linzster March 4, 2012 at 10:02 AM #

    Amen! 🙂

  3. tinystepsbigjourney March 6, 2012 at 10:14 PM #

    Gosh do I ever miss sleep.. I’ll take the teething screams. If you just let me sleep.

Leave a Reply

