The Lero Lero Factor

16 Jan
Typewriter

Image by toastytreat87 via Flickr

I was once asked … “how do you handle failure? I mean as a writer you must get rejected all the time.”

Obvious is it? I guess I had that unsuccessful, starving writer look of failure branded on my forehead.

I said there’s no real trick to it. I’ve fallen plenty of times in life and most people have something inspirational to say, but for me it’s just the lero-lero factor, translated in English it’s the “in your face…in your face!” expression. The ability to say suck it! I did this in spite of you.

I don’t know how many times I’ve been told I couldn’t do it, by literary agents, publishers, contest judges, or critics…a.k.a family but the more they tell me the more it fuels me to continue and work harder. If someone told me I couldn’t run the marathon, I would bust my ass for three months just to run that monster 29.2 miles and crawl over the finish line hours later and say lero-lero.

It warms my heart, makes me smile, and lets me feel vindicated.  Lero-lero. It’s a powerful feeling of satisfaction. But if the lero-lero factor is not working I go by two quotes I saw somewhere in a book or magazine…

A professional writer is an amateur who didn’t quit.

And my all time favorite…

The elevator to success is broken…you’re going to have to take the stairs…

4 Responses to “The Lero Lero Factor”

  1. lorrelee1970 January 19, 2012 at 10:01 AM #

    Those are wonderful quotes.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Woo-Hoo For Happy Accidents « The Wish Factor - May 26, 2012

    […] often find it in many of my rock-bottom moments. I live by the Lero-Lero Factor, so I most definitely find it when people tell me it can’t be done. But the other day, I […]

  2. My Tinman Update #3 « The Wish Factor - June 1, 2012

    […] I don’t know if it’s possible for someone to train for a triathlon solely working on the running, biking,  and weight training, but it’s all I’ve got. I’m not a high roller, I don’t have a pool. But I do possess some bad ass will power. It’s the kind of will power that’s coupled with the Lero Lero Factor. […]

  3. Weekly Photo Challenge: Dreaming « The Wish Factor - July 17, 2012

    […] dream of the day I get to feel the Lero Lero around those that didn’t believe I could do […]

Leave a Reply

