Surviving …how did I get here?

1 Jan

You wonder how it happens to you. I mean, you planned for something else your entire life…something…anything but this….but then just when you think things can’t get any worse…they do, and you hear things like…”well at least you’ve got your health?”

You think…I exercise, I eat right, I take care of myself …dude…. I should have my health. There’s no “at least” about it. That should be a given right? You feel like you’re living in a Spanish soap opera from Univsion or Telemundo and you’re not even the good looking one. You wish for something else, but there ain’t no genie here.

No…Not here in the middle of this thing I call life.

Did I take a wrong turn? No. I followed the rules went to one of the best schools in the state but with this economy could only get job offers for selling insurance, not that there’s anything wrong with that, but with the jobs I do want I continue to get the you’re “over qualified” speech, or the it’s-not-you-it’s-me letter. But I’ve still got my health, right?  So you look for other solutions to get you through the day, week, month, or year. Some justification. You’re searching like crazy for Tony Robbins to pop out of an elevator and wave his magic wand and then you find IT in a country song, and you’re not even from Texas, Oklahoma, or Tennessee. You’re Guatemalan and you live in California dude. But there it was … Winston Churchill said it first but Rodney Atkins added sabor!

“If You’re Going Through Hell…Keep on Going”

And there it was. I’ve got to find humor in the little things so that my wrinkles don’t accumulate or the gray hairs don’t multiply. There’s not enough Oil of Olay or Nice-n-Easy to help me out. So I’ve got to bust a move. This is it. 365 days of trying not to lose it like George Costanza over the little and big things. I’m clinging to life without meds and using humor as my compass.  How did I get here? Who the hell knows…bad luck. But how do I survive? 365 days of “keep on going”. Giddy Up!

 

 

Leave a Reply

