Sandbox List Adventure 27: Take Me Out to The Ball Game …

10 Mar

I’d never been. He’d never been . She’d never been.

It was a trifecta.

I can’t believe that in all my sports-loving years I’ve never been to an Opening Day of any kind and neither had my little Guats. As a sports enthusiast that sucks. In fact I shouldn’t even be admitting it, let alone writing it for all to see. I might get kicked out of the tomboy club for that. But I do mention it because that situation has been remedied.

I had the California sunshine, the national anthem, the popcorn, the cotton candy, the hot dogs, the Easton and Louisville Slugger bats swinging, the baseballs going into deep left, and then my son rounding the bases, helping his team with a 15-8 victory. It was only three innings, but he was 3 for 3 with 6 RBI.

Yeah … I gotta say … Little League Opening Day was pretty awesome. Even without the Cracker Jacks, I’m glad we all experienced this American tradition together. It prepared me for what to expect when we head off to watch the Dodgers in the spring.

Baseball … you gotta love it.

 

My son and his teammates taking the field as they announce the teams.

My son and his teammates taking the field as they announce the teams.

 

The teams cheering after the first pitch was thrown.

The teams cheering after the first pitch was thrown.

 

Something tasty for the kids.

Getting something tasty for the kids after Opening Ceremonies.

 

Something you absolutely have to have when you go to a ball game. You have to ... it's a rule. Sometimes you can even have two.

Then getting something for yourself, because you absolutely have to get a hot dog when you’re at the ball game. You have to … it’s a rule. Sometimes you can even have two.

 

But if you're a serious carnivore there was something for you too.

But if you’re a serious carnivore there was something for you too.

 

After all that food we definitely needed to work out, so we tested a few new bats.

After all that food we definitely needed to work out, so we tested a few new bats before the Homerun Derby.

 

But of all the things this Opening Day weekend this was probably my favorite ... my son, hitting one over third base.

But of all the things this Opening Day weekend, this was probably my favorite … my son, hitting one over third base and my daughter and I cheering him on. I thoroughly enjoyed the fact that my son tagged someone out at second, but I loved this moment even more.

 

4 Responses to “Sandbox List Adventure 27: Take Me Out to The Ball Game …”

  1. anotherday2paradise March 11, 2014 at 4:57 AM #

    Well done to your son, TG. I could eat one of those hot dogs right now. :)

    • The Guat March 20, 2014 at 1:16 AM #

      Dude when I saw the guy grilling them I had to take a pic. Had to. :) And my son had a super awesome time :) Great hitting :)

  2. brickhousechick March 11, 2014 at 5:56 PM #

    Awwwwww!!!! Play Ball!!! I miss those times. They were so damn cute playing and not really caring what happened. My son was always distracted trying to catch butterflies or bugs while in the outfield. :)

    • The Guat March 20, 2014 at 1:19 AM #

      He is pretty cute when he runs all speedy and then totally daydreams in the outfield. They constantly call his name, which is followed by “Baseball ready!” Daydreaming always.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,722 other followers

