Up For Round II

3 Mar

You were able to fight, jump, and claw your way through it. It was a total Gatorade-commercial-worthy moment. You held your arms up like Rocky Balboa, out of breath but doing the boxer shuffle and feeling pretty badass.

But … Do you really think you’d do it again?

Dude. Yeah. I would.

I’d buy a lifetime supply of Ben Gay, Advil, and CVS ice packs just to show how much I love him.

Yup.

I’d need all those medicine cabinet supplies for my weary bionic leg, because climbing 1,400 steps in honor of my Dad is a mission.

A crazy one, but one worthy of all my efforts.

 

climb-banner-1

Image via FightForAirClimb.Org

Yup. I did it. I’ve signed up for the American Lung Association’s Fight For Air Climb Adventure … again.

Yup … 63 stories of grueling adventure await me.

I wouldn’t do that for just anybody, but for my pops I’d do it twice.

 

My Dad ... talking about dreams ... me trying to listen.

My Dad … talking about dreams … me trying to listen.

 

He was a Rooter of the Underdog, A Laugh-Until-You-Crack-Me-Up Enthusiast, My HBO-Watching Buddy, The Remote-Control Master, The I’m-Broke-Right-Now-Can-You-Help-Me-Out-Financier, The Bucket List Adventurer, The Random-Acts-of-Kindness Missionary, The Häagen-Dazs Hogger, and The Wingman to My Dreams.

My Dad … the fierce adventurer who couldn’t swim very well but often jumped into the deep end of my uncle’s pool with, no floaties, just to prove that anything is possible if you’ve got heart and guts lived an unfinished life. He died of Interstitial Lung Disease about three years ago at the age of 62. But I carry his spirit on my shoulders in everything I do and with every adventure I jump into … he’s there.

He never said I couldn’t do anything even when others constantly believed it. He was the Rocky Theme Song to my life, and now I carry that soundtrack with me as I travel through life’s journey without him. And it is in honor of his life, and of his spirit, that I choose to scale the second tallest building in the city and race my way to the top with my best Chapulin Colorado efforts in hopes of raising money to further research and find a cure.

The countdown is on … stay tuned.

 

8 Responses to “Up For Round II”

  1. susan swiderski March 4, 2014 at 5:07 AM #

    Good for you! This is a beautiful post, and a wonderful tribute to your dad.

    • The Guat March 7, 2014 at 11:53 PM #

      Thanks so much! Glad that people get a chance to get to know my dad through my stories. I’ll keep you posted on the crazy race :)

  2. Kathryn McCullough March 4, 2014 at 12:29 PM #

    Good for you for taking on the challenge and for writing such a delightful tribute to your father. Congrats on accomplishing both. I bet your dad would be proud.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • The Guat March 7, 2014 at 11:52 PM #

      Thanks so much! I’m so glad that people get a chance to know him through my stories. I really appreciate the blog love and will definitely keep you posted. And so sorry for lagging on my blog reading. I plan to catch up this weekend and check out your Dad stories. :) Hope all is well.

  3. lameadventures March 6, 2014 at 11:16 AM #

    Wow, you’re doing that lung busting climb again! The only way I could do that is if I were air lifted, and I’d probably still need to heave a tank of oxygen upon touching down.

    • The Guat March 7, 2014 at 11:48 PM #

      Dude yes! I’m totally on a mission to hang in there once again and hopefully make it to the top again. Duuuuuude it’s gonna be a tough one. But thanks for the comedy you always find a way to crack me up.

  4. anotherday2paradise March 7, 2014 at 5:16 AM #

    Kudos to you, TG, and also to your dad. He sounds like he was a gutsy guy with a very big heart. He’ll be so proud of you. xx

    • The Guat March 7, 2014 at 11:55 PM #

      Thanks! He was totally awesome and is missed everyday. I’m just so glad that you and others can see what I saw in my dad through all my stories and father-daughter adventures :) Keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,548 other followers

