El Burrito Sabanero and Christmas Song Power

20 Dec

It takes a while for it to hit me, because my dad’s not walking through the door with the Christmas tree.

But it hits me … eventually.

It hits me when I see Charlie Brown and the rest of The Peanut Gang. It hits me when I see my kids decorating cookies with green and red M&Ms. It smacks me in the face when I’m laughing my ass off at Pete Schwetty, Mary Katherine Gallagher, and Justin Timberlake‘s Junk in The Box skits on Saturday Night Live.

It helps.

It builds.

But the one thing that always kicks it up a notch is the song. The song for my Guat People.

No it’s not I Wanna Wish You a Merry Christmas a.k.a. Feliz Navidad.

Nope. That’s too commercial.

This is Old School.

It’s more powerful than Mariah Carey, Michael Buble, Kelly Clarkson, or Jennifer Nettles Christmas Specials.

This is El Burrito Sabanero.

The Donkey Song.

 

The Donkey is a powerful thing.

No one would think a donkey song could bring out the ho-ho-ho spirit, but it does. It crushes whatever Grinch-like tendencies I may have had about Christmas trying beat down my beloved Thanksgiving Holiday.

I hear it and the Christmas Spirit is jumping. I hear it and it takes me back to my five-year old self, when I had pigtails and enjoyed waking up in the morning. It takes me back to my Union Elementary Holiday Program Days and wearing red. It takes me back to hanging out with my dysfunctional family, eating tamales, and playing Loteria. It takes me back to drinking that famous Guatemalan Ponche that my mom made every year. It takes me back to opening presents in my pajamas at midnight. It takes me back to La Vecindad — the old neighborhood and its people.

It rocks my Guat world and every year, Christmas doesn’t seem to start unless I blast that tune and do my little dance. I could be in the middle of a George Costanza life episode, and when I hear that tune the frustration, the anxiety, the anger, the whatever-it-is-I’m-feeling-at-that-moment disappears.

I raise the volume. I tap my feet. I nod my head, and it’s on.

The Christmas spirit is upon me. The Donkey is pretty powerful stuff.

Do you have any Christmas song power?

Bring it!

Let it smack you in the face and enjoy the eggnog. Being at the overcrowded mall fighting for parking is so much easier when you got it.

 

 

6 Responses to “El Burrito Sabanero and Christmas Song Power”

  1. brickhousechick December 21, 2013 at 5:53 AM #

    Oh, Guat!!!!!!! I LOVE THIS SONG!!!!! It definitely marks the Christmas season. Tuquituquituquituqui!! Even my teenagers love the Burrito song!!! I’ll be playing it all day today. I see you read my bata post. I was having technical problems and could not accept comments but I finally figured it out and fixed it. Did your family wear batas too? LOL.

    • The Guat December 22, 2013 at 2:45 PM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuude yes! I was so trying to comment on your post because it cracked me up! My mom and all my aunts used to wear batas! On Christmas they used to get on me and my sister to wear them, but we were so lazy we just pulled the covers off the bed and dragged them toward the Christmas tree to see what Santa opened all of this while hearing El Burrito Sabanero! Love that song :)

  2. lameadventures December 21, 2013 at 11:31 AM #

    Hey Guat, for some reason it was a challenge just for me to load this post. It kept crashing my iPhone and I’m on a borrowed computer on the West Coast right now. I’ll try to listen to this song when I’m back in the Apple. I don’t have a Christmas favorite but there are many I loath starting with those dogs barking “Jingle Bells”. So I’ll trust your taste and adopt your favorite as my favorite. Merry Christmas pal, I hope you, the Little Guats, your husband and family have a great holiday.

    • The Guat December 22, 2013 at 2:47 PM #

      Dude. Sorry my awesome post keeps crashing your phone. The song must be so powerful that it’s crashing your system. Latin music will do that to you :) Hey hope you’re having a warm Christmas in San Francisco, well … at least warmer than the Big Apple. And yes I loathe a couple of songs that are just too 1950s for me, but this one…this one rocks my boat! Have a good visit with your family.

  3. Cayman Thorn December 22, 2013 at 6:23 AM #

    I love the burrito song. It reminds me of going to my grandfather’s over the holidays. He lived in Corona, Queens. There were about twenty of us cramped into this small apartment, opening presents. Great times.

    • The Guat December 22, 2013 at 2:55 PM #

      Oh Cayman! Duuuuuuuuuude. I am so glad you are aware of The Burrito song. This brings you to a whole new level of awesome :) Yeah that is one of my favorite Christmas songs and songs in general. If they play that at the 7-11 I am dancing in that Gatorade aisle. So glad that your grandpa schooled you on awesome holiday traditions enjoy the Burrito song and your holidays. Hope you are well my friend!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,772 other followers

