Today I Was Thankful For Elizabeth Gilbert

1 Aug

Survive. Everyone is trying to do it, including me.

But I realized some people are trying to get passed this stage and move on to the next. Apparently there are three stages in life and I had no idea. There’s Survival, Success, and Significance. The Almighty Oprah has spoken and you know if she said it has to be true. Well I don’t know if she said it, but she totally agreed with whoever did and her endorsement goes a long way. Just ask any writer that made it to her Oprah’s Book Club Selection.

Dude.

Anyhow, I’m sad to say that I’ve been stuck so long in the survival stage I wasn’t aware that there were two others. I’ve been hanging on, chugging along, keep on keeping on for some time now. During the day I can escape my survival stage with bucket list adventures, family outings with my kids, triathlons, friends, or indulging in the best chocolate ever.

But I’ve realized that it’s in the quiet of the night when it catches up with me, you know when I realize that I’m still surviving, and not succeeding or feeling significant in any way. Thank God for meditation, a good cup of tea, and the awesome Wish Factor that is humor, These have become my nightly saviors. Namaste Deepak Chopra for bringing some peace. Holla to you Yogi Bedtime tea makers with your little pick-me-ups written on the teabag. And as for you Jason Bateman and Jimmy Fallon … you rock. I think I would have jumped off a cliff if it weren’t for the fact that you crack me up. These have been my survival tools and I thought they were great.

But is that what I want? Do I want to just survive, or do I want to succeed? Or do I want to make my existence significant to those closest to me, you know live with purpose?

Considering that I was in survival mode, these seemed like pretty heavy questions. These were chocolate-worthy Ben & Jerry moments.

elizabeth-gilbert

Elizabeth Gilbert

And just when I was feeling pretty crappy about being in survival mode Eat, Pray, Love superstar Elizabeth Gilbert saved my day. I really enjoyed her book when I read it a couple of years ago and admire her journey. Not because she’s a successful writer but because she was in a really crappy situation, I mean it sucked. If your life has ever sucked, been in complete disarray, then this is the book for you. Her journey even helps you on your journey. But I’ve got to say if you haven’t really had hardships or felt emotional devastation then this book may not be for you. She may just seem like a crazy, neurotic chic that traveled for a year. You might not “get it,” and that’s o.k. But for my purposes today Gilbert saved me.

I happened to come across one of her lectures online during these heavy life questions, and I found my answer. She went on to talk about how even with all this success, she herself doesn’t have it together and she thinks it’s funny that people accuse her of doing so and come to her for help. She struggles too, maybe not financially because c’mon Best Seller, please. But more on an emotional level and just with every day business and life. It happens. Even though people look like they have it together there are moments, days, weeks where they need a Godiva chocolate and Jason Bateman too.

Dude. Light bulb.

You’re doing the best with what you’ve got and who you are.  And survival stage may seem like forever, but it’s only temporary. You’ll get to where you want to go if you keep at it. Cut yourself some slack because tomorrow’s another day and you get another try. Live your best life and aspire. Yes, aspire. But be kind to yourself when you fall short, be forgiving when failure and disappointments happen in your life’s scavenger hunt, because  you’re a “Pioneer of Continuing On.” Be grateful and thankful for the little things, for the little accomplishments that help you get through it.

Dude.

So today I cut myself some slack just for being in the survival stage.

Today I’m thankful for the awesome Nopales recipe that I rocked out in my kitchen … Totally Food Network worthy.

Today I was thankful for my kids spontaneous burst of laughter over the word booty right before bedtime.

Today I was thankful for my cup of Yogi Bedtime tea.

Today I was thankful for my 500th post. WOO-HOO to me! I am a writer even when I don’t get paid, anyone who writes 500 pages of something can definitely be called that. I’m thinking I’m worthy of business cards now.

Today I was thankful for Elizabeth Gilbert who helped me with my course correction.

 

 

9 Responses to “Today I Was Thankful For Elizabeth Gilbert”

  1. TBM August 5, 2013 at 6:07 AM #

    Dude I should read her book. My life ebbs and flows in what I like to call, “Oh crap, I’ve screwed up again, now what.” don’t be hard on yourself. We are all trying to survive and it takes a lot of time and patience.

    • The Guat August 6, 2013 at 9:10 AM #

      Dude Yes! It’s a great book for people like myself whose life is all crazy or anybody whose life has been crazy. Makes you want to get a passport :)

  2. Deepa August 5, 2013 at 8:36 AM #

    I liked the 3S…. though I cant figure out where I belong…. survival I guess.. I have read Eat Pray Love once and almost forgot the lines…. you just gave me a reason why I have to go through it again… not to wonder how it is to travel so much but to feel ‘its okay’ not to have ‘it’ together somtimesand everything will be fine in the end.. Thanks for the post :)

    • The Guat August 6, 2013 at 9:11 AM #

      It is a great book and definitely has a lot life lessons and great quotes to get you through life’s ups and downs.

  3. Andrea Kelly August 7, 2013 at 1:36 AM #

    You inspire me. Just so you know ;)
    Love Elizabeth Gilbert, Love that book, Love this post!

    • The Guat August 7, 2013 at 8:53 AM #

      Ha! So glad you liked it. She’s a total inspiration for me, she was living in crappiness, traveled the world, had a journey, and is now living a lot better. I’m an Elizabeth stalker :)

  4. Juni Desireé August 14, 2013 at 1:16 AM #

    This is really cool- I’d never heard of the three S’s. I’ll have to give it some thought. And I absolutely loved Eat Pray Love. It’s one of my favourite books. I love the insight and the spiritual journey and could really relate to the inner world of Elizabeth Gilbert. I’m not sure if I want to read the second book though, because I don’t know if it could be as good as the first.

    • The Guat August 15, 2013 at 11:38 PM #

      Thanks. I had no idea of the three S’s either until I saw the lecture she gave … it was a good one. And yes this is one of my favorite books and I completely related to all parts of the book. So it was so good to hear her speak. I haven’t read her second book yet either. The only sequels that turned out to be great were Godfather I and II, but she’s a good writer so I might give it a try and see her happy ending. :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Challenge: Where Is True Beauty Found? | Live Hard Love Hard - August 6, 2013

    […] Today I Was Thankful For Elizabeth Gilbert (thewishfactor.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,716 other followers

