Sandbox List Adventure 12: My Little Aquaman

14 Jun

“Opens June 2013″

“Is it June, yet?”

“No.”

“Is it June, yet?”

“No.”

“Is it June, yet?”

“Yes, but it doesn’t open for a couple of days.”

“Is it a couple of days yet?”

“No.”

“Is it a couple of days yet?”

“YES! YES! It’s been a couple of days, and today is the day. Today.”

It was a year-long countdown for this Sandbox List Adventure to begin and it finally arrived this week. Construction complete, bulldozers no where in sight, and water slides included. My only concern was the fact that we signed up for the A.M. session. As you all know I’m not the greatest morning person on Earth. But this week waking up early didn’t bother me. I woke up with purpose, with excitement. I woke happy to check something off my son’s Sandbox List. He was pretty ecstatic, too, so much so that he didn’t need to watch The Sprout Channel, PBS, or Disney Jr. I didn’t even need to give him the customary multiple reminders to brush his teeth and get dressed. I spoke once and it was done. Magic.

I guess swim trunks do that for you.

Although his sister was not that thrilled, considering she couldn’t participate in this particular adventure she could care less how fast her brother got dressed. She was still wild, running around in her pajamas and throwing Kix everywhere.

But after all the morning routine craziness, I piled them in the car and off we went … to my son’s first swimming lesson at the newly constructed pool down the street. I was really happy to see him having a great time splashing around in the pool. I’m sure he’s going to do well in his Tiny Tots Triathlon. He’s been to swim school every day this week and seems to be getting more confident in the water. I think the SpiderMan goggles definitely help.

All the kids were at the same level, so it didn’t really matter that he was younger. All that mattered was that they all splashed the same way. I was pretty proud of him for not freaking out and containing his excitement long enough to listen to the swim coach. So when the first lesson was done I asked:

“So, how was it?”

“It was great, mom! Great! But next time I need Aquaman powers, instead of SpiderMan powers. They’ll make me swim better.”

 

Meeting his swim coaches and awaiting eagerly to dive in.

Meeting his swim coaches and awaiting eagerly to dive in.

 

Working on his kick.

Working on his kick, although he needs to work on staying completely in the pool while doing so.

 

Working on his diving formation.

Working on his underwater Aquaman formation. 

 

The Big Test ... floating. Everyone needed a little assistance on that one.

The Big Test … floating. Everyone needed a little assistance on that one. Even my little Aquaman.

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Sandbox List Adventure 12: My Little Aquaman”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sandbox List Adventure 14: Dynamic Duo, Plus One, Riding The Waves | The Wish Factor - July 7, 2013

    […] Sandbox List Adventure 12: My Little Aquaman (thewishfactor.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,791 other followers

