The Death of Wednesday

9 May

Dear Wednesday,

Here it was Thursday and you wouldn’t leave me alone.  You just had to follow me, like some crazed stalker. You tried sucking me back into that dismal state that only Wednesday drama can do. You followed me into Thursday, clutching onto my sanity and peace of mind. You suck, Wednesday.

Normally I don’t consider Wednesday “hump day” or get-me-to-Friday-already day, because when you’ve got two kids the days sort of blend together and they sort of lose their feeling. You don’t realize what day it is until you turn on AMC and see what’s playing. Although sometimes I wish my life was an hour-long drama or better yet a half-hour comedy. It could be wrapped up and resolved by the end of the episode and I’d be drinking coffee at the end of the day and smiling as the credits rolled. It’s too bad I don’t drink coffee. Everyone I know drinks coffee and they seem to be getting passed Wednesday just fine.

I normally let go of 24 periods that suck. I try not to have too many emotional hangovers because they rob me of the chance for a better day when the sun rises. But not today. Pinche Wednesday.

I needed it to be neatly wrapped up already. I didn’t feel like re-winding the events of the day and going through all the what-if scenarios. I was so wishing that Jack Bauer would swoop on in and save this nuclear mess that I call life. But Jack Bauer did not come.

It’s days like this that I don’t like gray hair or wrinkles or age 37. Days like this make me look in the mirror and wonder if I have any brown hair left willing and able to take on any new adventures out there. I know there’s Nice N’ Easy, but that’s like cheating. I don’t mind having gray hair. I like them when they are born out of excitement and living an awesome state of existence. Stuff like bungy jumping, zip lining, paddle boarding or anything ending in “ing” really. But when these gray little fiends rise out of the depths of despair during the “for worse” part of your days I’m not so much a fan.

No Wednesday you suck. You gave me a few new ones, and I wasn’t really happy about it.

And then it happened. The death of Wednesday, just like that and it was all because of a tea party.

A tea party.

I had forgotten that  I was invited to a pre-Mother’s Day Tea Party at my son’s preschool. In truth I wasn’t sure what to expect with some of the Children of the Corn parents planning to attend the festivities. But I promised my son I would attend, so I braced myself and forged on.

It ended up being exactly what I needed. Thursday rocked. It was definitely a cure to my emotional hangover.

 

The Invite

The Invite

 

The treats await.

The treats await.

 

On my placemat.

On my place mat.

 

The snack at the tea party.

The snack at the tea party.

 

These were gone by the time I took my second sip of tea. Most of them eaten by my son of course. I was glad that each table had its own ... I didn't want a riot to ensue

These were gone by the time I took my second sip of tea. Most of them eaten by my son of course. I was glad that each table had its own … I didn’t want a riot to ensue.

 

While snacking on treats I explored the Mother's Day folder created by son.

While snacking on treats I explored the Mother’s Day folder created by son.

 

His notes amused me.

His notes amused me.

 

This was his how well do you know your mom quiz. It definitely got a smile from me. He's usually asleep when I watch my AMC favorites, but he had some good answers.

This was his how well do you know your mom quiz. I wondered what the teacher thought as she wrote down his answers. It definitely got a smile from me.  I think he’s too young to know about AMC and HBO, so he stuck to the PG rating show.

 

My portrait. I'm smiling, can you tell?

My portrait. I’m smiling, can you tell?

 

The little goodie bags waiting for moms

On our way out the little goodie bags await.

 

Thursday … yeah … definitely the cure.

9 Responses to “The Death of Wednesday”

  1. 76sanfermo May 10, 2013 at 12:59 AM #

    Lovely items…..
    AND YOUR PORTRAIT…!
    Lol

    • The Guat May 18, 2013 at 1:05 AM #

      I love the way he sees me … pretty awesome portrait :) It cracked me up … in a nice way.

  2. bgddyjim May 10, 2013 at 2:16 AM #

    That’s one heck of a long neck you’ve got there. Happy Mother’s Day.

    • The Guat May 18, 2013 at 1:06 AM #

      Thanks. It was a pretty cool one.

  3. brickhousechick May 10, 2013 at 7:16 AM #

    Glad to hear of the death of your Wednesday! That’s quite the Tea Party!! Happy Mother’s Day. :)

    • The Guat May 18, 2013 at 1:06 AM #

      It was a good tea party, the whole experience made me forget about the whole Wednesday disaster.

  4. Becky May 15, 2013 at 3:50 PM #

    Oh, that’s just awesome! I was just looking back at some of the Mother’s Day cards I got from my kids when they were little – they always thought I was the best mom ever!! ::) Made me wonder how much influence the teachers had in what they wrote on the cards! Seriously, though – good times, and good memories…cherish these moments, they go by quick!

    • The Guat May 24, 2013 at 10:05 PM #

      Thanks! It really made for an awesome day. I kept all the little notes he gave me. They make me smile. I’m sure I’ll totally think it’s even more awesome when he’s older and further away from me, because I hear that’s how teenagers tend to be. Oooooh. I’m dreading that phase.

  5. bgddyjim May 18, 2013 at 7:48 AM #

    You all have to watch using the words “Tea” and “Party” so many times in one post (and in the comments… Couple more and the IRS will be taking note. Chuckle. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,179 other followers

