The Cup

6 Feb

Most people may call it collecting clutter. I’m sentimental, I call it saving things with character.

Everyone does it at some point, right? Most of the time it’s a t-shirt, maybe your old college sweatpants, sometimes it’s underwear. Old and beat up, but it’s yours. It’s comfortable around the seams and the cotton is worn down just so. Holes? There may be a few. But don’t even think about throwing them away. They’re irreplaceable.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not to the point where I need to come out on A&E’s Hoarders or anything like that, but it’s a quirk. I’ve got a few things here and there. But I guess some people draw the line at my plastic cup. It can get a couple of eyerolls over here in the Guat household. I’ve even uncovered and stopped schemes of getting rid of it.

The Cup

The Cup

Now, normally a plastic cup wouldn’t get a second look. I’m more of tall glass kind of person. But for some reason this tall plastic blue 32 ounce LEGOLAND cup seemed to make its way next to my dinner, lunch, and breakfast plate every day. If I had a fancy La-Z-Boy couch with cup holders, it would’ve probably made it there too. It doesn’t have sentimental value, and it wasn’t expensive. But there’s a certain feel to it. Plus, it being 32 ounces and all, helps keep my daily quota on hydrating myself. I’d become possessive over it, like your special corner on the couch. You don’t like anyone’s butt imprint on that cushion, but yours. It’s a custom fit. Same thing, I don’t like anyone drinking from my cup. I know it gets washed and Dawn dishwashing soap is pretty powerful stuff, it comes in anti-bacterial orange, but it’s my cup. I’m weird that way.

But then the incident happened. And I guess most people would have thrown it away and gotten another one. I mean it’s not like we don’t have dozens of cups and pilsner glasses in the cabinets over here. But I kept it. I’d become a little attached.

In truth I don’t know how it happened. I was probably distracted by some sort of toddler-crisis-Ritz-cracker shortage or something when I left it unattended on the counter. I honestly didn’t think I was that absent-minded, but apparently I am. I mean I know that heat and plastic don’t mix. I’m aware, I took chemistry in high school and I’ve got common sense. But regardless of these factors, the cup became victim to the got-too-close-to-the-frying-pan syndrome. Upon impact it sort of caved in on the side and the plastic sticker got all crunchy. It’s all puckered up on one side. I don’t know if it technically holds 32 ounces anymore, but it’s still my cup.

Most of the time my mom, dude, sister, aunts and cousins look puzzled as they see me drinking from it. What’s the deal? It’s burned up, beat up, and injured. I mean I can probably get a similar one from the 99 cent store or the CVS. I give them all the same answer. It kind of reminds me of me. I’m a little beat up and sometimes I may walk with a limp because my knee acts up when it’s cold, and I probably need to take more vitamins. I’m a little sideways too, but I’m still good. I have a purpose. So the cup stays.

 

15 Responses to “The Cup”

  1. shellakers February 7, 2013 at 12:41 AM #

    Awww! You’ve got me feeling sorry for your poor, limpy legged cup! lol

    • The Guat February 7, 2013 at 10:18 AM #

      Yeah it’s got a little hitch in its get-along, but it’s still pretty good. Like me, I guess. Surviving one day at a time :)

  2. klsprout February 7, 2013 at 5:27 AM #

    I still regret giving up my oversized college sweatshirt that I had worn the cuffs off of, and I had cut the neckline and waistband away. Damn. That thing was irreplaceable. Keep the cup AT ALL COSTS!

    • The Guat February 7, 2013 at 9:59 AM #

      I’m trying to fight off my family’s plans to scrap it. So far…success.

  3. Darla Welchel February 7, 2013 at 7:49 AM #

    I love it! I love your analogy between the cup and you. I’m not sure if I feel that way about any one item, but I get it – perhaps my hubby or maybe my sewing scissors????

    • The Guat February 7, 2013 at 10:09 AM #

      Yeah this cup has sort of grown on me. I’ve got sweatshirts and t-shirts too. But the cup is the only thing that my family gives me grief about. It’s too funny. They were a little amused with my explanation, but still plot to throw it in the trash and get me a new one. I’m on watch. :)

  4. lameadventures February 7, 2013 at 9:02 PM #

    This post strikes a familiar chord, Guat. I’ve got some pretty decrepit tee shirts that I would never in a million years wear when guests visit, and at this stage, they look about a million years old. Right now, I am in no hurry to junk them. When I will very likely unload them would be if I were to ever move to another apartment (I don’t see myself ever living in a house). That’s when I’d clean out my clutter and start fresh. If you ever get around to relocating that’s when you might seriously consider that the time has come to ditch the cup.

    • The Guat February 15, 2013 at 11:51 PM #

      I’ll have to admit … I might take the cup with me, but seeing you’re totally awesome and wise I might take your advice.

  5. Island Traveler February 7, 2013 at 11:28 PM #

    That is one cool cup full of fun memories plus it’s from Legoland. I will keep it too for as long as it takes. I am nostalgic myself and there’s no price to a happy memory.

    • The Guat February 15, 2013 at 11:50 PM #

      Absolutely no price for a happy memory. Need to keep all the ones I’ve got alive and thriving, right? :)

  6. Ray Colon February 8, 2013 at 5:22 PM #

    I’ve held on to many things that should have been discarded long ago, but most of that stuff is in boxes, drawers, or in the garage. I can’t think of anything that I’ve kept for too long that I actually use. Now that I think about it, that seems worse than what you’re doing with the cup. So long live the cup!

    • The Guat February 8, 2013 at 9:26 PM #

      Yes! Long live the cup. I need to have that written down on a t-shirt and wear it around the house. Or maybe a magnet…so that I can stop the plotting against it. :)

      • empathy75 February 11, 2013 at 9:42 PM #

        I feel the same way with you. I bought a new car 7 years ago and everybody have been pushing me to change the car and they want me to be like them ( changing car every 5 year is quite trendy in Malaysia ) which I refuse strongly. I know my car is not fancy, beautiful or good brand, but still it’s mine which has carried me many years and hasn’t caused me any trouble. IT’s good that you keep that cup.

      • The Guat February 19, 2013 at 2:05 PM #

        Thanks. And cars are always a source of memories. I had my 1987 car for a long time. I got it handed down to me in 97 and just sold it last year. It was tough to let it go and it wasn’t by choice. I think maybe that’s why I’m holding onto The Cup.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,911 other followers

