In Case Others Were Curious …

18 Jan

The why?

I was asked the why the other day.

Why did you start the blog in the first place, and why did you name it “The Wish Factor”.

What is that? Who does that? I thought it was pretty self-explanatory, but then realized well maybe not.

Why did I call it that?

For moments like these:

For when you realized that you’ve lost your job and it was a freelance gig, I mean you weren’t even on staff and they had to let you go because of funding, you wish you had another life.

For when you realized you had to move into your parents’ place and you are 36 years old. You are a grown-ass woman and you had to move in and relive the dysfunctional drama of your teenage years all because your future landlord decided not to be your landlord because his wife’s cousin’s sister-in-law needed the place and you hadn’t secured the lease. You wish you had another life.

For when one of your ten-year college reunion questionnaires reaches you via mail, and you realize everyone else is a CEO, VP, Senior Executive, or President with business cards and corner offices with giant windows and you … you are 36 years old and Head of toilet scrubbing, pants folding, dinner cooking, story reading, pamper changing, and Lego building. You wish you had more to write down.

For when it’s 10 o’clock at night and there are seven Dr. Brown Baby Bottles sitting on top of the counter smelling of stale milk, while your dude sits on the couch, eating Doritos, and watching the Golf Channel, knowing full well that it is his turn to handle the Palmolive duties. But apparently he thinks he is suffering from Fibromyalgia, which apparently is selective in nature and happens only when the dishes need washing, so you just sigh and so wish you were somewhere else.

For times like these:

LIFE

.

Pretty self-explanatory.

But as I continued with this blogging project, I realized that The Wish Factor was no longer an action, a verb. It was no longer defined as wishing. It was something else. It became comedy, humor, funny. Finding the funny. This had become my Wish Factor … my X Factor for getting through the bad hands that life kept dealing on the table. The Wish Factor had redefined itself and I guess I was glad it had. The perspective changed and I may be better for it.

I may not even need chocolate …

Well let’s not get carried away. Chocolate has always been essential here, like breathing. It’s always been part of the journey, and as this journey came to an end, I realized maybe The Wish Factor definition wasn’t so clear. So for what it’s worth, that’s the why? And since this Guatacular journey celebrated its first anniversary this week, 365+ days of continuous writing, I’m happy to report that I’ll probably be taking the weekend off. But I’ll be back on Monday.

19 Responses to “In Case Others Were Curious …”

  1. Island Traveler January 19, 2013 at 12:14 AM #

    The title of you blog is something a lot of us can relate too. Reading your post, I saw bits of myself. At 41, I’ve never work harder and still seem not going anywhere. It’s living paycheck to paycheck. My best seems not good enough all the time. Most of the time I wish that life turned out differently but then I look at my wife and son who reminds me that I am rich because I have them. As for you hubby eating chips, sounds like me. Wishing you and your family a great year my friend.

    • The Guat January 20, 2013 at 7:40 PM #

      I’m so glad someone can relate to my ups and downs and that people out there have the similar experiences. It helps me feel less like a bumb :) Thanks for the well-wishes … definitely trying to have a good 2013.

  2. 76sanfermo January 19, 2013 at 12:15 AM #

    You are sympathy made person…
    Thank you !

    • The Guat January 20, 2013 at 7:41 PM #

      Ahhhhhhhhhhh. Thanks so much for the support :)

  3. dougsan January 19, 2013 at 2:19 AM #

    I absolutely love your blog, it’s one of my favourite reads.

    • The Guat January 20, 2013 at 7:42 PM #

      OH!!!! Thanks I’m so glad I can be a favorite read to a couple of someones out there. Thanks so much for your support and kind words!

  4. bgddyjim January 19, 2013 at 4:00 AM #

    Hmmmm. I see a pattern there, but I’ll refrain from comment at this time with one exception… When my wife isn’t living up to my ideals I must remember this (and always do): if not for my wife’s faults she would have picked a better man.

    That door swings another way too: Dammit Jim, you picked her. Just some food for thought, and remember… I’m a fellow blogger – I only have a tiny picture of your world. I’m just giving you what I use to keep me straight.

  5. klsprout January 19, 2013 at 6:10 AM #

    Yay – I’m glad you’re giving yourself a break! Rest up!

    • The Guat January 20, 2013 at 7:43 PM #

      Thanks! I needed one. Getting the creative juices ready for Monday :) Hoping not to disappoint after my weekend hiatus :)

      • klsprout January 21, 2013 at 9:55 AM #

        Take that pressure off yourself, too. Need to borrow some of my Xanax?

  6. rommel January 19, 2013 at 12:45 PM #

    Such grip and honesty to this post it ain’t easy to comment to. Then again after the other half, I guess, you put a light to it. Hope springs eternal. When times are dire, sometimes, smiling, wishing and thinking before doing isn’t not at all a counterproductive thing. Very well put together.

    • The Guat January 20, 2013 at 7:45 PM #

      Yes! When things are pretty crappy you definitely need to find something positive, be it humor or whatever it is you can find, if I hadn’t flipped a switch I think I 2012 would probably have been worse. I’m hoping springs eternal too :) Thanks for your nice words.

  7. adinparadise January 20, 2013 at 5:25 AM #

    I had to look up Fybromyalgia. It says that it comes and goes. :) Thanks for giving us another interesting glimpse into your life, TG. You always make me smile when I come here, and I think you’re doing a great job of managing your own little empire. Hugs

    • The Guat January 20, 2013 at 7:48 PM #

      Yeah the only reason why I know about is because of the commercial and the golfer that supports one of the medicines which help. Yeah it comes and goes, but I find it funny that it comes and goes when its time to do the dishes. And thanks for the kind and supportive words. I’m glad I can make you laugh and that I bring smiles whenever you stop by :) I receive your hugs and send them right back :)

  8. TBM January 21, 2013 at 12:38 AM #

    Congrats on the year and good for you for taking the weekend off! And can I be in charge of the Legos? Oddly enough, I got a job once since I loved putting legos together. The job involved diagramming a newspaper. At first I thought it would be super sweet since I was told it’s like putting puzzles and legos together all day. Overall I enjoyed the job–but it was a job. Now I just want to put puzzles together and not have to stress out if a $250,000 account will be mad that their ad is on page 3 below the crease. And to answer that question–yes they did get mad. Very mad.

    • The Guat January 27, 2013 at 2:56 PM #

      It was a good weekend. I think I’m going to continue on that pattern, I enjoyed being able to catch up on other things. And yes…you can definitely be in charge of Legos

  9. Ray Colon January 24, 2013 at 7:32 AM #

    Okay, this was a wonderful post. I’ve read many “Why I Do This” posts and they were usually stale, cliche-ridden, idealized manifestoes. Yours was not any of those things.

    The moments that you alluded to provide ample fodder for many posts. The situations are real, and the emotions that they provoke in us can be universally understood. When things are rotten, we can either wallow or fight — most of us usually spend time doing both. Writing about these things helps us to work through our thinking of our circumstance. As a benefit, others can relate to those difficult moments, so we can help one another to get beyond them.

    • The Guat January 27, 2013 at 2:53 PM #

      Thanks so much I appreciate the kind words. It’s tough putting yourself out there, but It’s also helpful when you get support and encouragement for being genuine. Thanks again :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,663 other followers

