Mission Impossible … Yes. But Mission Accomplished. Tun-Tun-Tun-Tun-Tun-Tun-Tun-Tun-Tun …

15 Jan

This was it. Today was the day. 365 days.

I’ve never done 365 days of anything consecutively other than breathing and being a parent. I didn’t think I’d be able to, with all the drama and chaos that surrounds my existence on a weekly if not daily basis. Everyone has it. It’s called life. But there I was, every night when everyone was asleep, in the quiet. In the good quiet of the night, because there’s all kinds of quiet, the night-time quiet was the best for me. It rocks. And there I was all the way until 11:59 p.m. on some nights, the television on, but the sound the off. All I heard were my thoughts and the tap-tap-click-clack of the keys on my laptop.

365 consecutive days of writing, of posting, of sharing, of creating Saturday Night Live skits of my crappiest moments so that I could come out on the other side with smile instead of bitterness. You never know what funny can do, so you gotta love what it does for you in a year — a year in the life of Guat. And I thank the 300+ followers who joined me on this Mission Impossible adventure and made it better than I expected. Technically my Blogoversary was on January 1st of 2013.

Celebrating with a happy dance.

Celebrating with a happy dance.

Yeah that’s right.

It all started with a resolution, a hope, a goal, a concept on New Year’s Day 2012, but then I got the crazy idea of doing it everyday. A challenge, an additional one to the already existing challenges of motherhood and dysfunctional family drama that defines my current existence. But I did it and I’ve been patting myself on the back all day. I almost did a cartwheel, but stuck to the happy dance instead.

When the idea first came to me I had no idea what to expect. I had no idea that people outside of California, let alone the U.S. would check me out. But there they were the peeps of Canada, the United Kingdom, South Africa, Australia, India, the Philippines, Germany, Greece and Sri Lanka. Dude those were the top ten international stops of my blog. But I even made it to places like Madagascar, Iceland, Aruba, Egypt and of course the motherland Guatemala.

Over 20,000 views. I’m sure some of you have more, but it seemed like a ginormous number for me. That’s like half a football stadium doing the wave for me. I had no idea the adventures of the Guat crossed the Atlantic Ocean. I’m jealous of my blog, it has more stamps on its passport, than I do. But I’ve got to love the fact that people in other countries read my stories, enjoy my sense of humor, my little attempts at inspirations, my weekly photo challenges brought to you by my five-year old beat up Canon PowerShot, and my journey to be a better something … Guat 2.0.

I’ve always flown my freak flag, loud and proud, sometimes prouder with a little Framboise or tequila, but blogging encouraged me to be more adventurous on a day-to-day basis. Once I put it out there and hit the “publish” button … dude … it was on. There was no taking it back. I said it, now I got to do it. Cowboy up. So blogging inspired three triathlons, a Warrior Dash, baking a pie from scratch, undergoing a Happiness Project, writing down a Bucket/To-Do List, going out on urban adventures with my kids, enjoying festivals, appreciating the moment, reflecting, living like it’s Shark Week, and trying to find the funny at times when I couldn’t even get a ha-ha.

But what did I get most of all?

I got support. I got another “Circle of Trust”.

I found support in complete strangers, who at the end of the year weren’t really strangers anymore. They turned into people who I’d probably go see a game with, hang out, eat dinner. I found lessons, inspiration, comic relief, supporters and advocates. I found  Drinks Well With Others, Lame Adventures, The Hook and The Struggler’s Handbook bringing me comedy every week and reminding me that cracking up is a great therapy. I found inspiration from Bucket List Adventures and The Landy to create to-do lists of adventures so that life keeps improving. I found culture, food, wine, photography and awesome adventures to Italy from Blissful Adventurer. I found my TV, movie and music soul mates in The Hand-Written Life and Unabashedly Poetic. I found my comadre over at La Chica Writes. I found more inspiration to improve on life and seek out traveling the world through Another Day in Paradise and The 50 Year Project. I found spiritual and kick-ass uplifting messages through Mirth & Motivation. I found inspiration to always try to look for the silver lining and to continue my personal journey to be a better something after reading This Man’s Journey. I found a constant reminder to always enjoy the ride from wild rider Susie Lindau, who constantly brings the fresh back into my perspective. I found the courage to go on after my first follower Thoughts of the Wandering Kind posted the first like.

I’ve found other wonderful bloggers out here on Word Press that have done some of the same, but these have been my constants throughout the entire year. The encouragement I found where I least expected it. And even though I have never been Freshly Pressed, in the 365 day blogging journey, I’m still pretty badass. I am so money, and I know it.

Woo-hoo for the 365-day challenge accomplished.

Woo-hoo for the 365-day challenge accomplished.

So here at 11:59 p.m. on January 15th I raise my glass to toast … to toast the awesome journey that has made me a better a writer, a better storyteller. A toast to the journey that brought more adventure in my life, a journey that began with chocolate, continued with chocolate and ended with chocolate, a journey where I thanked my DVR for recording all the shows I missed during this creative endeavor.

A journey that has been … to borrow a phrase from my buddy Cayman Thorn  … Guatacular.

18 Responses to “Mission Impossible … Yes. But Mission Accomplished. Tun-Tun-Tun-Tun-Tun-Tun-Tun-Tun-Tun …”

  1. The Wanderlust Gene January 16, 2013 at 12:56 AM #

    Brava! Really – it’s a tremendous achievement :)

    • The Guat January 17, 2013 at 11:09 AM #

      Thanks so much. It was great ride. Full of all kinds of ups and downs. Fortunately I always had chocolate and a little bit of humor to get me through most days. Let’s see how 2013 goes ;)

  2. charlottecarrendar January 16, 2013 at 2:12 AM #

    Congratulations on making it the whole year. <3

    • The Guat January 20, 2013 at 7:23 PM #

      Thanks! It definitely was a challenge .

  3. marydpierce January 16, 2013 at 6:02 PM #

    Well done, you!! I started in May and it’s been baby steps, but little by little I’m finding that what you said is true. The just doing it, and putting our own true selves out there is kind of exhilarating. I’m glad you made your goal!!

    • The Guat January 20, 2013 at 7:25 PM #

      Oh, my God! I am so glad you agree. Yes it does take baby steps, just one day at a time of putting yourself out there and keeping your word. Definitely takes discipline, but you feel awesome for accomplishing something meaningful in the end. Thanks so much for your support!

  4. lameadventures January 16, 2013 at 10:34 PM #

    Congratulations on accomplishing your mission. Plus you also competed in a triathlon while doing this. I’m going to now pop some Aleve in your honor.

    • The Guat January 17, 2013 at 11:03 AM #

      Thanks! I probably need a couple of those too. We’ll see how 2013 goes, I plan taking a roller derby class and see that experience pans out … it might be one or two depends on how many Aleve I got left.

      • lameadventures January 17, 2013 at 11:08 AM #

        If there is a single person I know real or, in our case, virtually, that I had to guess would take a roller derby class, that person would be you, Guat. Well, it’s probably a brilliant way to burn off steam. Soon, I’m going to volunteer usher an off-Broadway play about roller derby in the 1950s called “The Jammer”:

        http://atlantictheater.org/playevents/the-jammer/

      • The Guat January 17, 2013 at 11:29 AM #

        Ha! This is hilarious. I’m sure you could probably see me on the stage with a helmet and old-school roller skates. Hey let me know how the show goes :)

  5. Krystal January 17, 2013 at 9:50 PM #

    Good for you! That is truly awesome!

  6. Cayman Thorn January 18, 2013 at 6:05 PM #

    You’re all that and a bag of chips. Not just ANY chips, nah. Gourmet chips you can only get at some fancy pants gourmet joint. The kind of chips you need to buy with a credit card. And wash down with some Cristal. Those kinda chips. You’re all that, girl.

    • The Guat January 20, 2013 at 7:27 PM #

      DUDE. Thanks so much for your kind words and your awesome support. It’s comments like these that make me feel like I can do anything. Gourmet Chips indeed. I’m down with that!

  7. rommel January 19, 2013 at 12:50 PM #

    Browsing through your blog, it does seem like you are perfect for this 365 thingamajig. You write so well, and from how I read, it seems like it comes natural to you. Good luck. Hope you keep up.

    • The Guat January 20, 2013 at 7:29 PM #

      Thanks so much for your kind words. Yeah it was a long journey, but I loved it. It took massive discipline and a good-working DVR to get me through it. I made it and it’s great to have followers like you who always stop by to check things out. :)

  8. Island Traveler January 21, 2013 at 12:38 AM #

    Congratulations. Your blogging journey inspires me to share more. When I started, I could barely come up with 1 post a week but now I almost got do 2 per week. Perhaps I can do more for 2013. Wishing you all the best!

  9. Island Traveler January 21, 2013 at 12:39 AM #

    It’s been a Guatacular year!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,716 other followers

