Silver Linings Playbook

30 Dec
Image via quotablecards.com

Image via quotablecards.com

With the year coming to a close and some people thinking about upcoming resolutions, bucket lists, Happiness Projects, or strategies, I began to do the same and wonder if I had accomplished some of the adventures on my list.

I wasn’t sure I’d finish a triathlon, but a finished two. I wasn’t sure I’d get through the unknown Warrior Dash, but I made it through the mud, muscles burning, but I made it. I wasn’t sure I’d survive the minimal to no work accompanied by the stay-at-home mom adventure, but I’m still here, more gray hair yes, but still here.

The list goes on … not everything completed. But it wasn’t my 2012 list, it was my Bucket List and I’m not dead yet. It was my Happiness Project, and I’m still under construction. I’ve got time. The Bucket List continues. The Happiness Project is in the works. My strategy is still in the works. Resolutions? My only resolutions are to keep The Bucket List and Happiness Project going. Brick by brick.

I wasn’t sure what I was doing in the beginning. I wasn’t sure of my starting point. I knew I’d probably fail a few times, but no worries. I began anyway. I began anywhere.

The point is I started and I’m not done yet.

2013 … it’s just another “365 day journey around the sun” … another 365 days to add to the Happiness Projects and to The Bucket Lists and to the strategies — all of it in search to find the silver linings. All I had to do was to begin … somewhere. And in 2013 I will begin again with all the plans, projects, adventures, and failures– all of them tucked into my silver linings playbook in hopes for a better something … a better version … a 2.0 … but still with a lot of chocolate.

7 Responses to “Silver Linings Playbook”

  1. lameadventures December 31, 2012 at 8:53 AM #

    I’m not feeling remotely nostalgic about 2012, although it’s had some welcome moments, including finding your site and learning that it’s just arthritis in my bum left knee and not cancer. I’m cool with moving onto 2013 even if it means I will cross the threshold into entering the final year of the desired 18-54 age demographic. After that, I believe whatever age I am ceases to count to the makers of Whatever They’re Trying to Sell That It No Longer Matters If I Buy It Because I’m Now Considered An Unworthy Fossil. I also don’t bother with making resolutions, partly because I’ve consistently failed to be a better person for the entirety of my life, and also because I know I need to lose some weight and I will finish working on My Manhattan Project in the months ahead. I have been wondering about you and how you will proceed with your site in the coming year. Will you consider this slow suicide of writing a post a day, or maybe cut yourself a break and cut back to a few a week? Whatever you decide, I wish you all good things. Happy New Year, buddy.

    • lameadventures December 31, 2012 at 8:55 AM #

      Oops, meant to say, “Will you continue this slow suicide of writing a post a day …” Where’s an editor when one needs one?

      • The Guat December 31, 2012 at 6:45 PM #

        Ha! I got you…I got you. :) Your comments never cease to crack me up. You’re awesome even in your comments. Yeah resolutions scare me as come March and April I usually fall off the wagon and then it’s a bummer. But I did keep one promise to myself … a challenge … to start a blog … write every day for 365 consecutive days and I’m on it. I’ve been pretty awesome thanks to buddies like you with your fantabulous comments and great support. And well to the Hawaiians who make the best chocolate on Earth. But once I get to the 365, which will be in a few days, I think the craziness of everyday blogging on my part will take a hiatus and switch over to three to four days a week. But thanks for looking out :)

      • lameadventures January 1, 2013 at 8:40 AM #

        When I started my site, I posted three times a week. I kept that up for about 2 1/2 years. That was exhausting because, as you know, I also work full-time and I still maintain some semblance of a social life in The Real World (and that is not a reference to the old MTV series). As I embark on Year Four of Lame Adventures, I’m cutting back to 4-6 posts a month. Hey, I need more time for exercise and sleep and maybe even the LA’s will be higher quality. Maybe.

        Before I lost my capacity to digest milk products, one of my favorite indulgences were chocolate covered macadamia nuts from Hawaii. If I ate those now I’d probably end up on life support.

  2. Marcia Clarke December 31, 2012 at 6:39 PM #

    One day at a time works for me…no resolutions. Feliz A~o Nuevo chica!

    • The Guat December 31, 2012 at 7:04 PM #

      HEPA Chica! I heard that! One day at a time is always good strategy :) Thanks so much for stopping by my friend. A muy Feliz Navidad and Nuevo Ano! Hope you’re having a good one tonight, amiga :)

      • Marcia Clarke January 1, 2013 at 7:21 PM #

        Happy New Year Guat. Mucho dinero, paz y amor is what’s wished for all!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,847 other followers

