Daily Prompt Challenge: Mixed Tape

12 Dec

I remember it. It was the 80s and it meant so much when you got one … You thought yeah … this is my Jake Ryan and he must definitely like me. The mixed tape. It was the plastic  four-inch prized possession of any girl growing up. It was your die-hard four-week, four-month, or four-year love story caught on a Maxell, TDX, or Memorex cassette tape — a CD or iTunes playlist for those of you who don’t recall the awesomeness of Lloyd Dobler or the Breakfast Club.

Yes … the cassette tape … it rocked. It was a time machine that transported you back to the hallway where you met him at your locker, back to football games, back to 4th period math, back to the homecoming dance, back to kissing in the rain, and back to any after school special kind of moments.

Image via ct.com

Image via ct.com

Mixed tapes … yeah they took me back in time. So when I came across this week’s Daily Prompt Challenge that involved creating a musical playlist of songs that describe my life, including what I hope for my future … I said yes. Most definitely yes.

Every life involves love, heartbreak, drama, strength, healing and empowerment. I’m a chick … empowerment is always part of the deal. In the early years, when I was in junior high, there were plenty of love songs … the kind where I pine for a guy and he doesn’t really notice my awesomeness because I was more of the Chapstick type of girl, instead of the lipstick type.  But it was all good. I got over it. Things changed in high school and college. So here is Side A and Side B of the Guat’s Life Mixed Tape.

I Need Love – LL Cool J

Groovy Kind of Love – Phil Collins

I’ll Give All My Love To You – Keith Sweat

You Belong With Me — Taylor Swift

Cool It Now – New Edition

End of The RoadBoyz II Men

Keep Ya Head Up – 2 Pac

Por Amarte – Enrique Iglesias

One Headlight – The Wallflowers

We Belong Together Mariah Carrey

Stuck In a Moment – U2

The Show – Lenka

Ironic – Alanis Morissette

If You’re Going Through Hell – Rodney Atkins

Family Affair – Mary J. Blige

Live Like You Were Dying – Tim McGraw

Got My Toes In The Water – Zac Brown Band

Roll With Me – Montgomery Gentry

Carnival – Celia Cruz

Settlin’ – Sugarland

Home – Dierks Bentley

Break My Stride – Matthew Wilder

Don’t Stop Believin’ – Journey

Hope you enjoyed the album.

 

 

4 Responses to “Daily Prompt Challenge: Mixed Tape”

  1. Island Traveler December 13, 2012 at 9:00 PM #

    You have me with “Don’t Stop Believing.” Half of these songs, they are my favorite too. I think these are the music that not only sounds groovy but has words that are meaningful. Great list. Happy Holidays to you and your family.

    • The Guat December 14, 2012 at 3:28 PM #

      Journey and 80s music always rock.

  2. eof737 December 16, 2012 at 10:53 AM #

    You went for it and ALL of your songs are on my personal playlist too… Rock on! :-) BTW, Do you remember Rock Steady Baby!? What a hoot! :-)

    • The Guat December 19, 2012 at 12:40 AM #

      Yeah I was in full effect with this post. I really enjoyed this challenge. I had so many songs swirling around in my head I had to cut down quite a few. I might even have to do a Mixed Tape Part II. And YES! Yes I do remember … Rock steady all night long … rockin till the break of dawn :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,541 other followers

