Enjoying a Little Country

8 Dec

Fours hours.

I waited four hours.

And we went through …

Three juice boxes.

A bag of pretzels.

Nine Cutie Tangerines.

A bag of Pirate Booty Popcorn.

A muffin.

32 ounces of Gatorade.

Two trips to the bathroom

Two diaper changes.

Two paper airplanes.

One Hot Wheels.

One hour of Angry Birds play.

Seven piggy back rides.

And endless dance moves to the tunes of the pre-concert DJ. You know me, I didn’t need a dance floor to bust a move, the parking lot was just fine. My son and daughter joined me.

But why… why would I wait four hours outside a ginormous mall parking lot on a Saturday morning-afternoon with two kids in overcast weather? I hate malls. I hate shopping. So why? Why would I do this? Who was worth the trouble?

My man … my main man … Country Music Star Blake Shelton.

 

I hadn't been this close to any singer since my Enrique iglesias concerts in college. Dude.

I hadn’t been this close to any singer since my Enrique Iglesias concerts in college. Dude. Duuuuuude.

 

My son met a little cowboy playing the same Angry Birds game. They decided to share strategies while we waited for Blake to come out.

My son decided to wear his firefighter gear to the concert. He told me just in case there was an emergency. He met a little cowboy playing the same Angry Birds game. They decided to share strategies while we waited for Blake to come out.

 

Blake Shelton singing acoustic style.

Blake Shelton singing acoustic style.

 

Smiling as he finished his last song. I'd like to think he was smiling at me ... but you know ... the random chick next to me thought it was for her.

Smiling as he finished his last song. I’d like to think he was smiling at me … but you know … the random chick next to me thought it was for her.

 

It was a good morning for a little country music.

 

11 Responses to “Enjoying a Little Country”

  1. Darla Welchel December 9, 2012 at 2:04 AM #

    Cool! You know, he’s from my home state! :-)

    • The Guat December 10, 2012 at 9:47 AM #

      Duuuuuuuuuude. He is so great. And just because you guys are fellow Oklahoma people you totally just went up a level. :)

  2. laura@eljaygee December 9, 2012 at 4:27 AM #

    he should be smiling at you if only because as usual you help us to laugh :)

    • The Guat December 10, 2012 at 9:48 AM #

      Duuuuuuuuuude. I so agree with you :)

  3. marydpierce December 9, 2012 at 6:11 PM #

    I’d wait four hours for Blake Shelton, too!

    • The Guat December 10, 2012 at 9:42 AM #

      Oh my God. It was awesome. I love Blake Shelton. This guy packs stadiums all over the place so I was surprised and relieved that I actually had some breathing room and that my kids weren’t being squashed by the masses. I also happy to have found such a good spot. I think Southern Californians just freak out when it rains or it’s about to rain, which was the forecast that day. :)

  4. island traveler December 10, 2012 at 12:15 AM #

    He is a great singer. Worth the wait. And yes, he was smiling at you. Your son’s costume is so cool. My son has a firetruck rain coat which he still wears today. I might have bought an oversized one back then. Angry Birds sound cool. my son is crazy over Minecraft. Have a great day.

    • The Guat December 10, 2012 at 10:04 AM #

      He makes me like country music even more :) And my son always cracks me up with his last-minute surprises. But it helped him during the long wait.

  5. The Hook December 10, 2012 at 5:11 AM #

    Lucky devil…

  6. adinparadise December 10, 2012 at 9:26 AM #

    Some things are definitely worth the wait, and a smile from this dude is one of them. :) Your patience was rewarded and kudos to your kids for not driving you absolutely mad, asking “How much longer?” May be they did? :)

    • The Guat December 10, 2012 at 10:05 AM #

      Surprisingly it wasn’t until three and a half hours that he asked ‘hey when is Blake coming out?” Then I could actually tell the truth and say … not much longer because I saw the band come out :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,074 other followers

