Weekly Image of Life: Rekindle the Joy

1 Dec
One of my first gifts ...

One of my first gifts …

 

Walking through the store during the holiday season I was mostly annoyed by all the people who hadn’t finished their Christmas shopping during the Black Friday or Cyber Monday craziness.

I thought everybody was done.

The other part of me was stressed out that I had run out of Cheerios and Goldfish Crackers and my daughter was so not interested in running errands.

And then I saw it … and something happened. I took a field trip back in time and all the annoyances of 2012 had disappeared as I was revisiting the early eighties. The Snoopy Sno-Cone Machine … there it was sitting on the shelf and I couldn’t believe it.

I smiled as I remembered cranking the lever so that the shaved ice would pop out of the front of the house.

I smiled as I remembered using the small paper cups to catch all the shaved ice.

I smiled because I remembered squeezing the plastic snowman so that the sweet artificial fructose corn syrupy tasty concoction would cover the entire cone.

I did this for about two years … even when it rained, even after I lost the red shovel, even after the snowman’s red hat disappeared, even after all the small paper cups ran out.

Awesome childhood memories.

I looked at the box for a minute and then put it in the cart.

Hoping to rekindle the joy.

 .

.

 

Weekly Image of Life Challenge Courtesy of This Man’s Journey

 

 

 

 

11 Responses to “Weekly Image of Life: Rekindle the Joy”

  1. laura@eljaygee December 2, 2012 at 1:42 AM #

    some retro pleasure for a forward thinking shopper. I never had one of these :)

    • The Guat December 2, 2012 at 11:32 PM #

      Definite retro pleasure ha ha ha. It was one of the best gifts I got. Totally made out of plastic, but the best plastic ever. Thanks for stopping by :)

  2. ksbeth December 2, 2012 at 3:55 AM #

    i felt the same great joy when i got my easy bake oven. i had such images of cranking out baked goods and having my own bakery, all with the lovely and delicious items cooked by the amazing light bulb within the oven.

    • The Guat December 7, 2012 at 1:02 AM #

      Easy Bake oven. Ha! I had forgotten about that one. I never owned one of those, but one of my neighbors did and she went to town on that one. Hardly ever saw her outside that summer. She was baking away :)

  3. adinparadise December 2, 2012 at 8:46 AM #

    Never heard of it before, but do have lots of fun with it, TG. :)

    • The Guat December 2, 2012 at 11:33 PM #

      Hoping my son will get a kick out of it. :)

  4. island traveler December 2, 2012 at 10:08 PM #

    See…Holiday shopping madness ain’t that bad. Ha, ha, ha. Just like you I am stressed out with shopping and the crazy madness of it all. I didn’t spend a single cent on shopping during the Black Friday and cyber Monday. Hooray! But reality bites, I have to start getting stuff whether I like it or not. But just like you and your beautiful, happy return to childhood memory lane because of the Snoopy Sno-cone machine, I too have the most happiest memories of Christmas and it’s what warms my heart during those cold, lonely Winter nights when I miss the family I no longer can’t see physically during this events. Happy Holidays my friend and best wishes to your family.

    • The Guat December 2, 2012 at 11:36 PM #

      Going back to childhood memories often put a smile on my face … not always, but most of the time. And yeah you’re right … I guess the shopping madness wasn’t too bad. Thanks for stopping by

  5. I just bought the same slushie-sno cone maker for my little guys. I have no idea why in the world they wanted a slushie maker. I am sure it has nothing to do with the fact that I refuse, refuse to let them ever, ever get one at Target. Buit when I saw the 1980’s do-up, I couldnt resist. I think I am more excited than they will be (when I take it and redeem it as my gift from the jolly old saint). Happy Sno-Cone making – 1980’s style!

    • The Guat December 7, 2012 at 12:53 AM #

      1980s style. Yes! That is the best kind. No wonder you couldn’t resist. I think that’s probably why I couldn’t either. And I can totally relate, I think I may be a little bit more excited too. But once the slushies start coming I’m sure everyone will be all smiles :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Image Of Life: Happy Holidays | this man's journey - December 3, 2012

    [...] The Guat of  http://thewishfactor.wordpress.com/2012/12/01/weekly-image-of-life-rekindle-the-joy/ [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,912 other followers

