Weekly Writing Challenge: It Happened in a Second

14 Nov

It had never happened to me before. Not like this.

I couldn’t believe it. I had been so successful in avoiding it. I didn’t really see the need for it. I didn’t see the point.

I’d always see these ditzy girls pretending to know about sports and laughing that fake hyena laugh just to get close to one of my friends. I didn’t understand what that was about. These guys were like my brothers. These guys were “the guys,” and me being the tomboy that I was … I was one of the guys too.  I had always been. So I never understood the ditzy girls.

And then it hit me. I don’t know how it happened, but it did.

And it didn’t take a week, a day, or an hour.

It took a second. Maybe less than that. Maybe it was a split second. I don’t know if that’s faster, but it felt faster. Like speeding.

It didn’t slowly creep up on me. It pounced. It wasn’t a pitter-pat. It was a BOOM-BOOM.

Jake Ryan

I saw him and it hit me. The BOOM-BOOM. I had recognized this special effect. I had only had it once before with Rafa, but this time was a little different. It was louder and there were more butterflies. The butterflies were in the pit of stomach. It was the Jake Ryan-Sixteen Candles-Somekind of Wonderful type of BOOM BOOM. There was no music in the background when it happened. No Thompson Twins, Tears for Fears, or Peter Gabriel. Just silence and slow motion.

He walked across the basketball court in a t-shirt, blue jeans, and white high top Nikes with the blue swoosh. I locked into his Ryan Gosling eyes as he smiled and said hello.

That was it.

I had lost it.

It only took a second. A split second, but it had changed my life. Love. Head-over heels-kissing-in-the-rain-first-love-kind of love.

I hadn’t become one of those ditzy girls, but I sure understood it. I was never the same.

20 Responses to “Weekly Writing Challenge: It Happened in a Second”

  1. bgddyjim November 15, 2012 at 2:28 AM #

    LOL… This is an awesome post. My wife shares your enthusiasm – she’s straight like you, until I put on my rollerblades and skate. I turn her, from proud, strong mother into a babbling teenager (at heart) in seconds. It is absolutely cool as you get. I take her skating often now.

    • The Guat November 15, 2012 at 2:09 PM #

      Ha! I love your wife now :) Some of us are built that way we’re strong and proud and then BAM! The BOOM BOOM! Ahhhhh totally changes everything. Crazy love.

  2. TBM November 15, 2012 at 4:27 AM #

    Well at least you can admit it. That’s the first step. Now–not really sure if there are more steps to this. I guess, embrace it and enjoy the feeling.

    • The Guat November 15, 2012 at 2:10 PM #

      Yeah back then I was like man….dumb girls falling in love. And then bam! It happened to me. It was too funny. Totally embraced it and enjoyed it till it lasted. :)

  3. Kozo November 15, 2012 at 8:39 AM #

    I love the John Hughes adjective tribute. So many of us define our lives by those movies. I still have a place in my heart reserved for Molly Ringwald. Thank you for taking me back to high school and the innocence of first love.

    • The Guat November 16, 2012 at 10:35 PM #

      John Hughes was so awesome. I love his movies and so glad to have grown up in the 80s so that I could watch them. They always take me back. Molly Ringwald definitely holds a place in my heart, but Jake Ryan … Woo! he holds an even bigger place. I think all 80s chicks feel that way. He set the bar pretty high up there…well him and Lloyd Dobler from Say Anything. :)

      • Kozo November 16, 2012 at 10:54 PM #

        Don’t even get me started on Lloyd Dobler. I just devoted a chapter to him for my NaMoWriMo novel this very day.

        “I can’t figure it all out tonight, sir, so I’m just gonna hang with your daughter.” That pretty much sums up my life.

      • The Guat November 17, 2012 at 11:17 PM #

        Dude! I would so love to read that chapter. Lloyd deserves a chapter, maybe at least two. He is so awesome … and that line…that line is amazing. I wish we had more Lloyds in life, well maybe just in mine. I need me some more Lloyd :)

  4. adinparadise November 15, 2012 at 9:28 AM #

    Well he is kinda BOOM BOOM gorgeous. :)

    • The Guat November 15, 2012 at 2:11 PM #

      He’s totally BOOM BOOM. Jake Ryan set that bar high for me.

  5. rommel November 15, 2012 at 11:55 AM #

    I’m BOOM-BOOM-ing with joy. Awesome simple story. Very exciting, and with a very lovely ending. It’s true that even those nano-second can last a lifetime.

    • The Guat November 15, 2012 at 2:13 PM #

      HA! I’m so glad that people could relate to that “nano-second” feeling back when we were young. Ahhhhhh…that crazy boom-boom feeling. Glad you enjoyed it and thanks for stopping by

  6. Day Today Dating November 15, 2012 at 8:41 PM #

    What a grand moment :).

    – K.

  7. eof737 November 16, 2012 at 8:09 PM #

    Sending fun and more fun your way… This was good. :lol:
    {{{HUGS}}}

    • The Guat November 16, 2012 at 10:05 PM #

      Thanks my friend. Always like virtual hugs from awesome inspiration bloggers :)

  8. Andrea Kelly November 16, 2012 at 8:16 PM #

    I remember that moment!! I was 14. His name was Sam. I’ve never seen anyone with such an amazing smile in real life :) It was honestly hard to form words in his presence lol. Oh that crazy BOOM BOOM feeling! Hehe, thanks for the fun post!

    • The Guat November 17, 2012 at 12:14 AM #

      Ha Ha :) I get you … totally hard to form words. Definitely a BOOM BOOM Jake Ryan feeling in full effect :)

  9. ArticlesofAbsurdity November 17, 2012 at 5:54 PM #

    Wonderful story and I would so much rather read posts like this than 50 Shades of Crap. Sorry to offend if you like that series, but I like reality better.

    • The Guat November 17, 2012 at 11:23 PM #

      I’m not into that 50 Shades either so no worries. Most definitely no worries. Glad you enjoyed it and thanks for stopping by :)

  10. Krystal Rose November 18, 2012 at 3:52 PM #

    This post had me at the mention of Sixteen Candles and the accompanying Jake Ryan photo…ah, love is sweet :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,101 other followers

