Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy

9 Oct

Happy

 

I couldn’t believe when I saw this at the store.

The second toy I had ever owned in my three-year old existence.

It brought me back … way back.

It brought me back to the time when I was amazed at a toy that had music and moving pictures.

It brought me back to a time when I played with my Dad.

It brought me back to the time when my playing jacks rocked.

It brought me back to a time when I thought it was awesome to wake up in the morning.

It brought me back to a time when I had no worries, other than who was going to change my diaper.

It brought me back to a time when boys didn’t exist yet.

It brought me back to a time when Band-Aids cured everything.

It brought me back to a time when I didn’t pay taxes.

It brought me back to a time when I was happy.

It brought me a smile.

Happy.

 

17 Responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy”

  1. Andrea Kelly October 10, 2012 at 12:02 AM #

    I remember having one of those as well! Pretty sure my mom still has it stuck in a box in the shed somewhere :P

    • The Guat October 10, 2012 at 9:38 PM #

      Dude. I could not believe it when I saw it! I had the radio and the TV. I had to send the pic to my sister. It was a nice memory.

      • Andrea Kelly October 14, 2012 at 5:10 PM #

        I love stumbling on things like that :)

  2. on thehomefrontandbeyond October 10, 2012 at 5:34 AM #

    I WANT TO GO BACK THERE EXCEPT FOR THE DIAPER CHANGE PART (no I am not shouting, I just remember happy!)

    • The Guat October 10, 2012 at 9:39 PM #

      Ha! No yelling just happy I like that. I’m glad to see that my little time machine helped you too :)

      • on thehomefrontandbeyond October 11, 2012 at 3:10 AM #

        it did–your post was a great walk down memory lane

  3. susielindau October 10, 2012 at 6:55 AM #

    My favorite was The EtchaSketch! I still have one!

    • The Guat October 10, 2012 at 9:40 PM #

      Ohhhhhh. EtchaSketch! That one rocked too. I think my son would go crazy for that one.

  4. island traveler October 10, 2012 at 7:36 AM #

    You spoke from the heart and it’s truly beautiful. All of the things you mentioned I also miss. It’s hard to forget childhood memories that brought us happiness. A year ago, I saw the same toy and I had to stop and listen to the music as I read the simple yet magical words…words which made us smile once…

    • The Guat October 10, 2012 at 9:41 PM #

      Ohhhhhh. Thank you my friend. Yeah that toy really hit home. It was a nice surprise to run into it. That London Bridges sounded pretty sweet. :)

  5. harpersfarm October 10, 2012 at 12:09 PM #

    I love finding things from childhood. They have such a powerful ability to take us back, and sometimes a trip down memory lane is just what is needed.

    • The Guat October 10, 2012 at 10:08 PM #

      This field trip was very needed. I’m glad I ran into this toy

  6. lameadventures October 10, 2012 at 8:21 PM #

    “It brought me back to a time when I thought it was awesome to wake up in the morning.” That’s one I completely forgot about! Thanks for the visit via your wayback machine.

    • The Guat October 10, 2012 at 9:42 PM #

      Ha! Yeah I don’t wake up feeling awesome anymore, but that toy sure reminded me of how it used to be. Very cool toy, very nice memories, definitely made me feel awesome. Thanks for checking it out :)

  7. adinparadise October 11, 2012 at 5:24 AM #

    Cute post, TG. :)

  8. Jill Nelson January 30, 2013 at 11:01 AM #

    That is a happy picture!

    • The Guat January 31, 2013 at 11:45 AM #

      Most definitely. I couldn’t believe it when I saw it. An awesome blast from the past.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,787 other followers

